Quick and Flavorful Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I personally wish I had not read reviews prior to making this. Because I did, I was afraid the recipe would be too salty. Quite the contrary. I roasted asparagus and mushrooms with olive oil and fresh thyme. I did not season the vegetables because I felt seasoning them would cause them to be too strong. I will make this again, will not season my veggies, but instead of 1 packet, I will go ahead and use the two packets the recipe calls for. This is a case of not following the instructions and paying for it by not having as flavorful a dish as I may have had if I had made the recipe as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Photo by Arizona Desert Flower
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
The kids and hubby enjoyed it, but all I could taste was packaged sodium. I used 1/2 of a packet of the Veggie Boost to a little over 1.25lbs of baby asparagus. As a family, we definitely prefer a little butter and garlic over this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
Not my thing. I prefer plain vegetables or just some butter with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
You can truly use this for just about any vegetable! And the kids will eat it up, my family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This was better than expected. I used steamed carrots, broccoli and green beans. I added the Veggie Flavor Boost in increments so it wouldn't be too salty as others mentioned. I also added Italian seasoning and topped with Parmesan as suggested in the footnotes of the recipe. This was a quick way to flavor steamed veggies, and hubby ate all of his broccoli ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I steamed fresh carrots, cauliflower, and frozen green beans. My family and I all felt it was way to salty tasting and would have been happier with just good ole steamed vegetables. I won't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was just OK. I took the advice of the other reviewers and only used half the amount of Flavor Boost. Any more would have been too much. I also found the vegetable boost to have an odd flavor. I think I would have prefered to use the chicken flavor. I even tried drizzling the carrots with a bit of olive oil and topping them with dried cranberries to try and add some "ooomph". I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
These were much better than I'd anticipated, albeit a tad on the salty side (and I love all things salt). I used sugar pea pods and baby carrots and beef flavor booster since veggie apparently isn't available in my area. I enjoyed them, but can't see myself making them again simply because there are many other ways to make veggies we enjoy more. Thanks for the recipe, Campbell! (I do love the flavor booster, though; my favorite use is when making soups!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I liked it..I am a salt fiend and this was salty and strong. May not be for everyone so add some and then taste before adding full amount
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I went to two different stores and couldn't find the concentrated vegetable broth (couldn't find the product at all at one of the stores), so I bought the chicken broth. Like others, I needed considerably less than what the recipe stated, but it's very easy to add to taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Boxed Stuffing

With a few key ingredients, you can make a delicious stuffing in just 15 minutes.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States