Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
FANTASTIC!! Don't make the initial mistake that I did when I first read the recipe and assume that it's going to boring. This made the perfect veggie soup and got rave, I mean RAVE, reviews! I did add some frozen green beans and corn, used only beef broth and no water and simmered it for a little longer to let the flavors mesh, but that's all I changed. Very good...You should try it. You will be surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
684 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Very easy, quick, and tasty soup. I made a lot of changes,but I'm giving it 5 stars for the proportions and idea of using V8 as a base. I sauteed an onion, some celery, carrots and garlic in olive oil, then added the liquids as stated. I added two diced potatoes, a can of corn, some green beans, a can of diced tomatoes, and seasonings (salt, pepper, Italian seasoning.) This soup couldn't be easier and gets rave reviews every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
458 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
I LOVE this soup! I've made it a number of times and it's always so satisfying. I use 2 cups of chicken broth, use a 28 oz can of tomatoes, omit celery (don't like) and use frozen corn and green beens as well as the fresh carrots. Sometimes I also saute a large onion in the bottom of the pot and then add everything else. I also use the Spicy V8. The creole seasoning really makes it - but I also add at least 1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper for some kick. If you love your veggies, then you will LOVE this soup!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
338 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
great recipe,used 1TBSP of this creole seasoning blend: 2Tbsp onion powder, 2 Tbsp garlic powder, 2 Tbsp dried oregano, 2 Tbsp dried basil, 1 Tbsp dried thyme, 2 Tbsp fresh ground peppercorns (mixed), 1 Tbsp cayenne, 1 Tbsp celery seed, 5 Tbsp. paprika. Pulse all in food processor til well mixed or whisk together well. store in covered jar. Gave soup a lovely spicy flavour! Will definitly make it again! Oh, I also sauteed 2 medium onions right at the beginning, and then added everything to that. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I've been looking for a tasty homemade vegetable soup recipe and I'm happy to say this one surpassed my expectations. It's delicious, and even my hubby who HATES vegetable soup with every fibre of his being, enjoyed it. He even had seconds. I changed some ingredients, this seems to be a very adaptable recipe. I used vegetable broth and V8, doubled the amount of these and omitted the water. For veggies I used carrots, red potatoes, celery, fresh roma tomatoes, fresh green beans, one can of peas, and before I added anything to the pot I also sauteed a medium onion and two cloves of garlic in 1/4 cup of olive oil, based on suggestions from other reviewers. For spices I used cajun spice instead of creole (it was all I had), a bay leaf, oregano, garlic powder, a couple pinches of ginger, sea salt, and fresh ground black pepper. I also chopped up about a tablespoon of fresh flat-leaf parsley and put that in. I definitely see this soup in my future. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This is delicious! I found a recipe for a cajun spice mix online by Google-ing it. The only thing I changed was I made it in my crockpot, while I was away for the evening. Oh - and I used peas instead of greenbeans, but just because that was what I had on hand. It has very nice flavor. You should try this recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mer in the Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troutdale, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2002
This soup is hearty, tastes good, and very easy to make. It goes real well with French bread or sandwiches such as BLT's. I have made it at least three times as my wife requests it specifically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Had some friends over and made this soup on a cold night. Very good and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leitchfield, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Madisonville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
This was really good! Hearty, filling, and healthy. I did add a little more celery and also a small can of peas, so I had to add more liquid. I think some of it also boiled down some. I added about one extra can of chicken broth and one extra can of the tomato cocktail (I used V8). My husband did the shopping and brought home canned green beans, but next time I make this I will use fresh ones and I bet it will be even better! This is a great diet food. I'll be having some for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
i just made this for my family and got on here as soon as i could. wow. it is absolutly wonderful!! i didnt change anything about the recipe and my picky 6 year old, my soup hatin husband and I(i love soup) absolutly loved it, gonna be a regular in our menu!! what i did was i peeled and topped and bottomed the carrots, then cut them lenghtwise then chopped up relativly small(not too small) the celery i did the same thing, cut length wise then chopped up even smaller than the carrots, i didnt have diced tomatoes only whole peeled ones, so i drained the can in the soup pot, then diced them up and think it was even better doing it that way then if i had used already diced tomatoes i used old bay seasoning added a little more salt and our favorite pepper(fiesta brand ground pepper) and it was wonderful. super filling, i did make some toast and put softned butter on it and it completed our meal with tall glasses of cold milk, im gonna share this recipe with the rest of the family! you gotta try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessicathiele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States