Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
i made this for my husband who is a very picky eater and he loved it said it was the best thing i have ever made. i followed another reviewers advice and sauteed onions, garlic and mushrooms first then followed the recipe but made it vegan with vegetable broth(i made my own creole seasoning) but using tomato vegetable juice cocktail (V8) is genius, thanks for this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
I've been looking for a tasty homemade vegetable soup recipe and I'm happy to say this one surpassed my expectations. It's delicious, and even my hubby who HATES vegetable soup with every fibre of his being, enjoyed it. He even had seconds. I changed some ingredients, this seems to be a very adaptable recipe. I used vegetable broth and V8, doubled the amount of these and omitted the water. For veggies I used carrots, red potatoes, celery, fresh roma tomatoes, fresh green beans, one can of peas, and before I added anything to the pot I also sauteed a medium onion and two cloves of garlic in 1/4 cup of olive oil, based on suggestions from other reviewers. For spices I used cajun spice instead of creole (it was all I had), a bay leaf, oregano, garlic powder, a couple pinches of ginger, sea salt, and fresh ground black pepper. I also chopped up about a tablespoon of fresh flat-leaf parsley and put that in. I definitely see this soup in my future. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Loved it, substituted bay leaf for thyme. My kids wouldn't even try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Even though I changed a bit of this recipe this is a great soup!!! I used tomato sauce as someone else had done because I didn't have the cocktail drink on hand. I also used Emerils Original Essence to flavor it. Oh this was so good my little 4 year old loved it and my husband finished it off! Will do this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I made it in the crock pot, let it cook on low all day, and used frozen vegetables except for the green beans and celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Not my cup of tea. Maybe if some kidney beans were added it would come out good but I still have yet to find a veggie soup I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Despite seeing all the rave reviews, I was expecting a ho-hum soup. Not so! It is wonderfully good - the key really is the creole seasoning, so don't skip it! I didn't have that on hand so I just did a simple google search and found out how to make it myself. I didn't even use all the ingredients for the creole seasoning and the soup was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Loved this soup! I was a little concerned that it would be too bland, but the Creole seasoning really gave it a great kick. The only change I made was to add 1 can of drained/rinsed dark red kidney beans, other than that I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
It was easy, but we didn't care for the taste of the broth. We don't normally drink V8 and didn't know what that tasted like, so I guess that could be why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States