Quick and Easy Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
I'm very shocked at how much my family enjoyed this! I chose this recipe because even though I generally do not like casseroles, my husband and daughter enjoy them and I had these ingredients on hand. I made a few minor changes and it was fantastic, my husband ate 4 plate fulls and wants what is left for his lunch tomorrow! I halved the recipe, used reduced fat cream of mush soup, added 3/4 cup of sour cream, I used 3 slices of kraft deluxe american cheese and about 1/4 of a block of colby jack cheese, some garlic powder and sauteed the onions in olive oil until tender. All I had was a packet of the new "fresh" smoked starkist tuna and it worked beautifully, no fishy taste! I undercooked the noodles slightly and after I mixed all the ingredients together I poured it into a greased casserole dish. I mixed about 3/4 of crushed butterwheat crackers with a tablespoon or so of melted butter and topped the casserole with the crumb mixture. I added a grating of fresh romano cheese and baked at 350 until the top was golden (about 20 minutes). I let it set up outside the oven for 5 minutes and served it. It is one of the few casseroles I have really liked, and that my family loved! Try it, and adjust it to the taste of your family, quick, easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Awesome, we'll never buy tuna helper again!! :) I adjusted the recipe as follows to make less and account for our tastes: 1/2 package noodles, 1/2 can peas, 1 can cream of cheddar soup, 1 can tuna, 1/2 onion chopped and sauteed in olive oil first, 5 slices american cheese. I also heated the soup, cheese, and tuna in the microwave before I added it to the cooked noodles in order to have it mix well, which it did fantastically! This made plenty for four. You could use any cream soup,and brocolli would be a really good vegetable too. Even my 2 year old ate this! Be sure to sautee the onions before adding them if you don't want them crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
250 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
It really is quick and easy, but I added about a cup of milk and it was much better. Without the milk it was a little too "stuck together". Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
My roommates all have midterms so I wanted to give them a little taste of home. So I gave this one a try because it looked good and didnt take a long time to cook. I substituted Jack cheese for american, and added sauteed mushrooms and garlic to the onions. I also sprinkled some garlic powder after everything was mixed. Everyone loved it and after 2-3 servings each,i have none left over for tomorrow!!! Even the roommates that dont like fish loved this one.... its a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
I used ingredients I had on hand: 1 cream of mushroom and 1 cream of celery, canned peas, rigatoni pasta, and 1 cup shredded cheddar, along with remaining listed ingredients. It was still pretty good, but could have used some celery salt, garlic powder, and a pinch of ground mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
You will never use Tuna Helper again after trying this recipe! I thought it was actually easier than Tuna Helper and the end result was fantastic. I used less peas (personal preference) and I sauteed the onion first so it wouldn't be crunchy. I also topped it with cheese and seasoned bread crumbs and put it under the broiler till it was nice and bubbly. I needed something in a pinch, being short on time, and ingredients since I didn't get to the grocery store today. This recipe saved the day! Thanks Jennie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Bacon and the Holy Trinity were my additions to the great simple meal. My hubby is not a huge fan of tuna, so I jazz it up a bit to make him happy. Four slices of smoked slab bacon crumbled in and added with the all white tuna (less fishy he says). I drained but didn't clean the skillet after the bacon, then added the butter and sauteed the Holy Trinity (onions plus carrots & celery diced small), before adding the soups (plus a half can of milk). A dash of celery salt and some sweet basil added nice complexity to the creaminess, and voila, even He loved it! ;) ps forgot to add that I left the cheese out of the sauce and just layed it over half the topping - he's weird in that he's not big into cheese, so this way I got it, but he didn't have to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
My husband had two helpings and said to give it five stars! Used half the pkg of pasta and while the pasta was cooking, I sauteed chopped onions, broccoli, canned mushrooms and diced ham in olive oil with a little pepper and garlic salt in a pan. Then stirred in one can tuna (didn't drain), one can cream of mushroom soup and three handfuls grated cheese. I also added frozen peas and carrots mix at this point. After the cheese melted, I added all this to the drained noodles sitting in the pot and kept cooking until the peas and carrots were heated through. Simple and easy dish to make! Had a can of sliced olives I was going to add to it but forgot -- next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2002
Overall, a very good recipe. I used cheddar shreds, dried onions, and added some sour cream. Very easy and adaptable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Excellent quick recipe! I did sautee the onions in butter and add a little garlic before mixing it all in with the noodles. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Tuna Casserole

This incredibly simple tuna casserole uses just five ingredients.

Quick Tuna Casserole

See how to make the quickest tuna casserole ever!

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States