Quick and Easy Tuna Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
It is near grocery day and I was looking for a quick and economical dish with what I had in the house. I halved the recipe, and it fit nicely in a medium sauce pot. But, there is something I do not understand about this recipe. HOW CAN ONIONS COOK IN 2 MINUTES? When I read the recipe and it said cook until the cheese melts I had a feeling the onions would still be "CRUNCHY!" So, I chopped them to a practical mince. But, they were still crunchy, as expected. If you are looking for a quick affordable meal this will work. It is as good as any oven baked tuna casserole and creamy. This is a dish I would make for kids but not adults, so if that is your intent it will work. However, I would pre-soften the onions slightly until transluscent before adding to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by violetgrr
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
followed the basic recipe with a few tweaks and came out with a good little meal. I was surprised how well the processed cheese slices melted over the noodles. too bad i just discovered my roommate hates the smell of canned tuna. she is running around the apartment screaming. perhaps i will refrain from making anything-tuna for a little while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetgrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This was yummy, and a great meal to whip up using the contents of the pantry/fridge/freezer. I only had one can of soup, so added some leftover sour cream and milk to compensate. I fried the onion and also some extra mushrooms. Used cheddar and parmesan instead of American cheese as I'm not in America, and added cornflake crumbs to my cheese mix which I then sprinkled over the top before baking in the oven until it browned. It's a keeper. I'll be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Very good! A nice, basic tuna casserole recipe. I think even a small onion chopped would have been too much for this dish - I used about 1/4c finely chopped and it was plenty without being overwhelming. I also used only 1 can of soup and added I can of milk for a creamier consistency. I also added a little garlic powder, dried mustard and a touch of celery seed. The sliced American cheese was a nice addition and I had some from the deli that I wanted to use up, but only used about eight slices. Will make this again - hubby loved it. ETA on 9/10/10 - I am making this again and looked up the recipe and wanted to add that I also baked it for 30 mins at 350 and tonight I'm adding fried onions to the top. Hubby just loves this meal and that works for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EKERR19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I really liked this! I just used healthy request cream of mush and cream of chicken, since that's what I had. Also threw in some garlic powder, a dollop of sour cream, and some canned mushrooms since I love them. I mixed in 2 slices of cheese and laid the others (which ended up being 5 more - so a bit healthier) on top and baked covered, removing cover towards end just to get hot and melted. It was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Doesn't get easier than this. Just like my mom used to make in the 70's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I choose this recipe because it wasn't baked, it is 90 degrees here, don't really need to heat things up more. Kids liked it ok, not too much different than the tuna casserole I'm used to. I used wagon wheel shaped pasta and only one can of cream of mushroom soup. Not bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Great recipe that's easy to make. I only used 5 slices of cheese and sauted the onions. My 2 year loved it!! I agree with previous reviewer, no more tuna helper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Pretty good and tasty. Only thing I added was a cup of milk, it makes it creamier with the condensed soup. Love it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Great recipe. However, I used some of the reviewers suggestions to make it my own. I used 2 cans of tuna vs. 1, 1 can of cream of chicken soup, & 1 can of cream of mushroom soup. I also used Italian breadcrumbs since I had it readily available. I seasoned the tuna with black pepper and Old Bay. Lastly, I thought I'd add broccoli to make it a one dish meal. Overall, I thought it was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Tuna Casserole

This incredibly simple tuna casserole uses just five ingredients.

Quick Tuna Casserole

See how to make the quickest tuna casserole ever!

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States