Quick and Easy Thai Style Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Brought this to a party and it went over REALLY well. I added 2 tablespoons of a chili garlic sauce (from the Chinese food area of the grocery store) and instead of salt/pepper - added some Mrs. Dash - about a heaping teaspoon. This is a keeper recipe - and VERY easy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatCatAnna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
This was a great tasting, easy to make salad. I ended up making it twice in one weekend - at the request of my sons. The only changes I made were to sprinkle toasted sesame seeds over the salad instead of using the peanuts (I'm not a big peanut fan), and the second time I made it I used a less lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
Wow! I've already made this 3 times, and just got the recipe less than 2 weeks ago! Family wiped out whole bowl the first night, and asked I make again for the next night! Very easy - once you have those ingredients on hand, it is so fast to make. I took a whole jar of peanuts and chopped them (food processor) and put them back in the jar to keep handy! I put a little Cilantro in too one time, and that was tasty too! A great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Very good! Nice change from the traditional creamy cole slaw made with mayonaise and much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2007
We really liked this, I'm surprised at some of the bad reviews. However, I made it at the last minute, and didn't have any fish sauce, so just skipped that part. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
This coleslaw is quick and easy to make. I had read the reviews and noticed comments about sweetness so I halved the honey. I also added a teaspoon of chili paste as suggested. I have made this twice and forgot the chili the second time. It was better with the chili. We really liked it and I made if for company and they liked it too. I will make this many times over summer because I don't have to worry about mayonnaise spoiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Craven, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
Delicious and super easy! I followed others' suggestions and added a tablespoon each of soy sauce and asian chili-garlic sauce, and I also added cilantro. I disagree with some reviewers' comments that it was too sweet or fishy - I didn't find that to be the case at all. This was easy and a nice healthy substitute for mayo-based slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Made this exactly as instructed (how else can you know) and it was fantastic. Will make again and again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dekangaro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
This is a really good recipe and easy to customize to suit your taste. I made it many times in the past two years. My usual tweak: I do not buy fish sauce just for this recipe - substitute with soy sauce; no funky taste, and if you want the slaw taste more salty, just add a little more soy sauce. I do not use salt at all in this. If no honey, can use brown sugar; if no peanuts, I use sesame seeds. If no lime juice, I use lemon juice. Every time it comes out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I made dressing as prescribed with a small addition of 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes. Cabbage and grated carrots were substituted for the vegetable mix. Peanuts (salted) were left in their purchased state. I added all dressing to salad mix, but after marinating for 15 minutes, drained dressing from salad thus leaving a small amount of dressing. Just prior to serving (at a potluck) I added about 3 ounces of shrimp. Attendees requested recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULINEDENYER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States