Quick and Easy Thai Style Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
I'm not usually a fan of sweet salads but this one was pretty good. Still, next time I think I halve the honey, replacing the missing half with an equal amount of soy sauce, to reduce the sweetness and increase the "Asianness" of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tsu, Mie, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
THis was good. I cut back on the honey, added sesame seeds instead of peanuts like one reviewer suggested, and I added a bit of ginger. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albion, Illinois, USA
Living In: Grayslake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2004
Wow! I've already made this 3 times, and just got the recipe less than 2 weeks ago! Family wiped out whole bowl the first night, and asked I make again for the next night! Very easy - once you have those ingredients on hand, it is so fast to make. I took a whole jar of peanuts and chopped them (food processor) and put them back in the jar to keep handy! I put a little Cilantro in too one time, and that was tasty too! A great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
Brought this to a party and it went over REALLY well. I added 2 tablespoons of a chili garlic sauce (from the Chinese food area of the grocery store) and instead of salt/pepper - added some Mrs. Dash - about a heaping teaspoon. This is a keeper recipe - and VERY easy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FatCatAnna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
This was a great tasting, easy to make salad. I ended up making it twice in one weekend - at the request of my sons. The only changes I made were to sprinkle toasted sesame seeds over the salad instead of using the peanuts (I'm not a big peanut fan), and the second time I made it I used a less lime juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2004
Very easy to make, but I didn't like the flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DoxieNut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Harbor City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
I added some ramen noodles and cayenne pepper to spice things up abit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
I made this recipe exactly as written except that I substituted an equal amount of shredded green and red cabbage and shredded carrot for the coleslaw mix to save money. The coleslaw was okay, not my favorite and I likely won't make it again but it was good enough to round out dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2005
Made this exactly according to the recipe, and I just didn't think it was that good. I love thai food and I made it as an accompaniment to a thai dinner. After taste testing it, I decided not to inflict it on my boyfriend. The fish sauce makes it taste vaguely funky, and the flavors don't sparkle and pop the way I think they should in a Thai salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peachy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2004
Very easy to make but my family didn't care for the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Asian Coleslaw

This coleslaw makes a delicious side dish. The secret? Peanut butter.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States