Quick and Easy Spanish Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Well, I almost always cook from scratch, but let me tell you, this was terrific! Could not be easier, with a nice balance of flavors. Kids will like it because of taco seasoning influence. I think there's an error in the recipe, though. "Instant" rice should not take 20 minutes to cook as the recipe calls for; about 7 minutes is right. I think you could make this with regular rice and follow the recipe that calls for 20 minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I chose this recipe to add a photo to faceless recipes for the Allrecipes Allstars group. If looking for rice like one would get at a Mexican restaurant, this is pretty close. My only problem was it was a tad dry. I ended up adding about tsp. of vegetable oil at the end which helped. I didn't have V8, so I found a subtitute to do 1/2 tomato sauce and 1/2 water and it tasted very similar. I made broth from broth paste, so I could control the sodium. I made 1/2 recipe and it made about 4 servings. At the end I added some frozen defrosted peas and carrots for color and texture. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This recipe was great! despite the urge that i had to add beans, (because there is room for experimenting with other ingredients) I did not. I basically stuck to the recipe, with the exception of the cayenne, chili powder and splash of hot sauce that I added for extra spice. It was very quick, and really delicious, i will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Chang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Curtice, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I didn't have V8 so I used salsa, and added a can of green chilies. It turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was really easy and had a great flavor. I used 1/2 cup Rotel tomatoes instead of the V8 juice just for a little kick!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Zuch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
I made this recipe tonight and my husband loved it! He has tried many times to fix spanish rice but it always came out bland. The only things I changed was: I diced up about a 1/4 cup of onion, 1/4 cup red bell, regular rice, and tomato sauce. All in all...DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
was delicious! I used brown rice though and added some green chili for some extra spice! flavor is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I thought it was great. I didn't have minute rice so I just had to cook it for about 20-35 minutes at the end. I also had to add more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda
Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dubois, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
It was a quick side dish...pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I used salt instead of taco seasoning. And used regular rice. Turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States