Quick and Easy Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
These came out very good, and very easy. I made a few changes, I used one tablespoon of bacon grease (that's all I had left in the freezer) and one tablespoon of canola oil. I left out the lime because I didn't have one. I drained one can of beans and left the liquid in one can, the texture was perfect for bean burritos, not too dry or too runny. I will absolutely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Sheezy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I used home canned black beans instead of pinto beans. This recipe is delightful. I will never purchase canned retired beans again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I didn't have pinto beans so I used black beans. Better than canned re fried beans and takes the same amount of time to cook! I also used coconut oil. Might try them with bacon grease for extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
First time I made this I drained the beans. Second time, did not drain, liked them much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
It came out great and I don't like beans! I thought bacon drippings would add a nice smoky flavor so I substituted the bacon drippings for the oil and the flavor it imparted was culinary excellence! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
These were awesome, everyone thought they were delicious and wanted to bring some home from the Mexican themed party we had. One friend said I would put the Mexican restaurants out of business lol. I made mine a day before the party so I just had to heat them up. Maybe that helped the flavors meld together more too. I would definitely recommend making these, and they were super easy too. I'm going to be making these often. Although, I didn't really add all the lime it called for, now that think about it. I will next time and see how the taste differs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Perfect when you don't have all day...I added a healthy squirt of Sriracha to some ketchup, mixed it with some chicken stock and let it cook down an extra five minutes....best we've had in awhile on tortillas with steak. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I love this recipe. I often times add more spice because I like spicy food, but it is super easy to make and very delicious! I do however, leave out the cumin because I really hate the taste of cumin in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Hilton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
These are super easy and full of flavor.I usually use canned refried beans with no fat. However, they are terribly bland and taste nothing like restaurant quality. Regarding the draining of the canned pintos, I drained one can and used the liquid from the other can. The beans seemed a little soupy at first, but the liquid got cooked out after simmering 5-7 minutes and the beans were perfect. You can always reserve some of the bean liquid and add it back if they become too dry. The lime juice helps with this as well. I might cut back on the garlic next time, but other than that, these are very good. The oil brings out the flavor of the pintos. I used them on tostadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I thought this was great. It was quick and easy, as advertized, and everyone loved it. Couple things: I did pour in the liquid from the beans liked others recommended and that is the right thing to do. Also, chopped a small onion and sauted it in the oil before adding the garlic. And, finally, I used a national brand of pinto beans that included jalapeno. Muy bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States