Quick and Easy Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
These were awesome, everyone thought they were delicious and wanted to bring some home from the Mexican themed party we had. One friend said I would put the Mexican restaurants out of business lol. I made mine a day before the party so I just had to heat them up. Maybe that helped the flavors meld together more too. I would definitely recommend making these, and they were super easy too. I'm going to be making these often. Although, I didn't really add all the lime it called for, now that think about it. I will next time and see how the taste differs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Perfect when you don't have all day...I added a healthy squirt of Sriracha to some ketchup, mixed it with some chicken stock and let it cook down an extra five minutes....best we've had in awhile on tortillas with steak. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I love this recipe. I often times add more spice because I like spicy food, but it is super easy to make and very delicious! I do however, leave out the cumin because I really hate the taste of cumin in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bustang65

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
These are super easy and full of flavor.I usually use canned refried beans with no fat. However, they are terribly bland and taste nothing like restaurant quality. Regarding the draining of the canned pintos, I drained one can and used the liquid from the other can. The beans seemed a little soupy at first, but the liquid got cooked out after simmering 5-7 minutes and the beans were perfect. You can always reserve some of the bean liquid and add it back if they become too dry. The lime juice helps with this as well. I might cut back on the garlic next time, but other than that, these are very good. The oil brings out the flavor of the pintos. I used them on tostadas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I thought this was great. It was quick and easy, as advertized, and everyone loved it. Couple things: I did pour in the liquid from the beans liked others recommended and that is the right thing to do. Also, chopped a small onion and sauted it in the oil before adding the garlic. And, finally, I used a national brand of pinto beans that included jalapeno. Muy bueno!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I made these last night. Since I am the type that will not "soak beans overnight" kind-of-process - this was ten times better than buying canned refried beans. As others have stated, I will never buy a canned refried bean product again. This is the perfect answer to being easy, quick and flavorful-with a homemade taste versus a canned taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I made these tonight, because I too did not have a can of refried beans. These were fabulous. I only had black beans, so I used those. Also did not drain the beans. The lime juice adds just the right flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
I tried this recipe, minus the lime juice, no one in my family liked them. (they're spoiled, because I cook my own beans), but I was out of homemade beans, so I decided to try canned beans, big mistake.Oh well, live n learn!....P.S.when I make refried beans, I also use a little bacon grease, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Wow - this was easy and delicious too, I might add. I am out of canned refried beans and wanted some for a recipe that I'm going to make in a day or so. But I did have a package of dry pinto beans so I decided to make my own refried beans. I used this recipe as a base, since I started with dry beans and as I had some lard, I wanted to try it the "authentic" way, so used lard to fry them. What I basically used this recipe for was the spices (including a bit of lime juice) and the proportions. These refried beans are delicious -- and my 1 pound bag of dried pinto beans made the generous equivalent of 3 cans of refried beans and tasted very good. And the price is so much less. Granted, it may not always be possible to take the time to cook dried beans first, but I expect using canned pinto beans (or black beans, kidney beans or whatever beans you prefer) to make these will still save a lot of money and yield enough to freeze for another time. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggieroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Very good! I cut corners and started with a can of refried beans but the add-ins took them up to the next level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gadgetgal

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States