Quick and Easy Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Made this tonight and I will never buy refried beans again! First of all I used black beans, but everything else was to recipe. Taste was phenomenal, texture was better than a can and my husband loved them (usually he ha no opinion on refried beans). In the U.S. We were able to buy canned refried beans whenever we wanted, the lack of availability made me seek out this recipe, I wish I would have done this years ago!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
4.5 Stars: Quick and good. I halved the recipe and may have used a bit too much garlic, but really liked them. Go easy on the lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I made this but drained the beans, measured out 4 cups of cooked beans & filled the cup to the brim with water (filling the gaps between the beans). I boiled it for a bit to let the water evaporate which added an extra 10 min to the cooking time. I also used 2 t pre-minced garlic instead of fresh. I mixed it all up with my immersion blender. It came out great- until I added the lime. This tasted much better without it. Otherwise this would be a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
first off, OH MY I won't be using canned anymore! I tweaked just a little, but stuck to this basic recipe. With oil & garlic I added onion bullion and some onion flakes ( also used pre-minced garlic instead of clove)I didn't have time to soak beans so I used a can of pintos and a can of small red beans. Also added a little powdered red pepper, about 1/2 tsp to this recipe. Even got the thumbs up from my husband!! YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Awesome flavor a definite go to recipe. This recipe really added that extra umph to my tacos hubby loved it. I used black beans with the liquid I found the lime to be a tad bit bitter I tried lemon before and I think I prefer it over the lime. It could have just been my lime seeing as it was also a bit dry I just sprinkled in a little sugar just to cut the bitter tast and they turned out great. Love it !!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I used this a base recipe but I don't think it was too far from the original so I thought it would be okay to review it. I used all organic ingredients and it's much cheaper to make these than to buy canned organic refried beans. I used one can of pinto beans and one can of black beans (both undrained) because I like the combination. I used lard instead of oil and sauteed a quarter cup diced onion and 1/2 of a 4 oz jar of homemade diced chilis in it (along with the garlic). If I used oil, I would use olive oil instead of canola because of the issues with conventional canola (GMOs and pesticides). I thought 1 tsp cumin would have been too much so I used 1/2 tsp. I also cut the chili powder to 1/2 tsp because I was using diced hot peppers. I added 1/2 tsp Mexican seasoning (from Mountain Rose Herbs) and a few shakes of onion powder and garlic powder. I didn't use lime b/c I don't keep it on hand. I would use it if I had it. I added some fresh-ground black pepper, but that was totally unnecessary as these beans turned out pretty spicy. It bites in the back of the throat. Lol. I pulsed it with my stick blender after the beans had simmered for 5 minutes (with the lid on), and kept it a little chunky. I then simmered for about 10-15 minutes (stirring often) and turned the heat off when they still looked a bit soupy because I know that hot refried beans thicken up when cooled. I would definitely recommend this recipe over canned refried beans for the cost factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Great basic recipe for refried beans. After simmering the beans, I used an immersion blender to get it all smooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
These are good! I wont buy ready made canned refried beans again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Vogl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I loved these refried beans. I used 2tblsp butter, 1/2 tsp cumin, 2 tblsp sweet onion, 2 cloves garlic, little salt, 1 can pinto beans with its liquid. Will make them again with canned or cooked dry beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
These came out very good, and very easy. I made a few changes, I used one tablespoon of bacon grease (that's all I had left in the freezer) and one tablespoon of canola oil. I left out the lime because I didn't have one. I drained one can of beans and left the liquid in one can, the texture was perfect for bean burritos, not too dry or too runny. I will absolutely do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Sheezy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States