Quick and Easy Pad Thai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
I tried this recipe and found it to be pretty decent. I added heat with lots of Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce plus added garlic powder, chili powder, pepper, salt, as well as some water chestnuts. Why chestnuts? Just cos I love 'em. Recipe is basic- just like it reads- and we found it worth adding to our recipe box to use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN-Buckeye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, California, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
first of all, ketchup can be used for thai food--i learned to make pad thai WITH KETCHUP from my host family in thailand. this recipe though would be better if you substituted sweet chili sauce for half the ketchup. also try using oyster sauce instead of fish sauce. it wasn't a horrible recipe, just needed to be fixed up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
No Stars! This recipe was a huge waste of time and money! Taste awful! Do NOT waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
zero stars- I should have read the first review before trying this recipe. It was indeed AWFUL- the sauce has way too much ketchup in it and I wasted a lot of expensive ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
it tasted nothing like Pad Thai.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I also wish I had read the reviews before trying this. Even with significant modifications (way less ketchup, etc.) it was STILL bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Will not do this one again. True pad thai does not have peanut butter in the sauce, but I thought it might turn it into a tangy peanut sauce like you get for dipping at some oriental restaurants. I was wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Strange version with funky taste. The curry (?), that didn't help. Bell pepper was a weird addition as well, especially that much. Sometimes I add 1 small Thai red pepper. Needs tamarind and fish sauce - both critical ingredients. Lime and cilantro to garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I made this and followed the recipe (no substitutions), we disliked it. The sauce was too tomato-y and I also felt like the sauce to meat ratio was too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Happy Valley, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pad Thai

Watch a Thai chef make this authentic Thai noodle dish.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States