Quick and Easy Monkey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I think my brother-in-law would refuse to celebrate Christmas if I didn't bring this for Christmas morning! He always asks me "are you going to bring that cinnamon thing?" I have found that I have more success making this in a tall sided 9x13 pan than in a tube pan. For some reason when in a bundt pan I can't get the center completely cooked. One secret I have discovered to getting the center done without overcooking the edges is to cover the pan with foil after 15 minutes of cooking. It comes out perfectly that way. I let my rolls thaw enough to cut each of them into 3 or 4 pieces before assembly so I get a better distribution of cinnamon mixture throughout the dough. I also discovered that it works better to use non-instant pudding and combine it with the sugar and melted butter in a saucepan then sprinkle each layer of rolls with cinnamon and pour the sugar/pudding/butter mixture over the top. I think this is really at its best when served warm or on the same day it is baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
Excellent. Like a previous reviewer, I didn't think it was going to work because the mixture looks so dry but I'm a believer now! I found this to be very gooey and delicious. I cut each roll into 4 pieces with kitchen shears which allowed more edges to be coated with the mixture. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
I have made this every Christmas and New Year's eve for more years than I care to admit! It has always been a favorite of the family to have these hot dribbling rolls on Christmas morning and open our "Santa" presents. I use 1 pkg. Bridgford frozen rolls, 3/4 white sugar, (but will try brown sugar next time), 2 TABLESPOONS Cinnamon. I also use COOK NOT instant butterscotch pudding and pecans instead of walnuts. They are easy and truly delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I am only giving this recipe 4 stars due to the fact that I too did not like the clumps of brown sugar/butter. I prefer a more gooey bread and have had it that way in the past. Every time I have tried to make Monkey Bread I have not had much success, but this was closer than any other I have tried. I didn't have time to read all the reviews before I made the recipe, but I too agree that cutting the rolls into 4 pieces and dipping them in butter would work out better than pouring the butter over the mixture in between layers. I even double the amount of butter because I thought the mixture looked dry before I baked it and it still turned out clumpy and crunchy. I think there is too much of the brown sugar/butterscotch mixture also. But I can't wait to try the recipe again, as it did have an excellent flavor and will get better each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I read through some of the reviews and decided to mix a few things up. I used cooking pudding, cinnamon, brown sugar, butter & pecans. I let the rolls soften up enough to cut them in halves. I melted the butter (1 1/2 sticks plus 1 c brown sugar) added the BS and the cinnamon and gently warmed until it came together. Then I added the pudding. I sprayed the bundt pan with Pam, sprinkled a few nuts & brown sugar on the bottom and then layered in about 1/2 of the rolls. I covered this with about 1/2 of the butter mixture and a few more nuts. Then the last layer of rolls, butter mixture and just a tiny bit of nuts. Let it sit out overnight (it was pretty high the next morning). Put it into a 350 degree oven and baked for 15 minutes then put foil on and baked for about 20 more minutes since it was pretty full. Then I turned off the oven and let it sit for about 10 minutes before I turned it out. Wonderful! No sticking to our pan (a pampered chef bundt pan) and it was baked all the way through!! The family could not get enough of it! Not gummy or dry in any areas. I think we will have to do this one again for Christmas morning although it might be a hard choice between this and our traditional orange ring! This was much easier to make since you do it the night before! I would definitely suggest melting the sugar/butter/cinnamon together and then when a bit cooled add the pudding in and mix very well. It was awesome! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATwood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Not sure how to rate this. My kids liked it. I didn't care for the chunks of hard, buttery sugar. I have a similiar recipe which calls for the pudding mix and brown sugar to be dissolved in the melted butter, along with 2 tablespoons of milk. If I make it again, I will also cut each roll in half, as they grow quite large overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This was soo delicious!! It was very simple to make. Frozen bread dough works so much better than the refrigerated biscuts and not as time consuming as the yeast rolls!! I will have this in my recipe box for a long time!! Kerri- IA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
Wow..this stuff is just like Cinnabon.. it is great. Be sure to use the correct BIG pan or you will have a mess. It makes a huge amount so maybe cutting it in half so you dont have a bunch left over and can make fresh each morning would be good. IT is A MUST. Sweet, sticky and a real comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
This recipe is fantastic! I made this on Christmas morning also, and everyone went wild over it. A couple of comments - you don't really need quite that much of the brown sugar/butterscotch mixture. It certainly doesn't hurt the recipe at all, but you could get by with less. Also, I would suggest holding a little of the brown sugar mixture and the cinnamon mixture back so that you can sprinkle some of it (and a little butter) over the buns after they have risen in the pan - prior to cooking them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2002
It's not every day your boyfriend comes home and makes it a POINT to tell you how good something was. This recipe is SOO good! He loves anything warm, gooey and sweet, and this is all that and more. Microwaving the leftovers makes it warm and gooey all over again. This could be sold at Cinnabon!!! I also did not use all the brown sugar/butterscotch mix. THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States