Quick and Easy Monkey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
Very yummy and easy. Was also concerned about leaving it out all night, but I left it uncovered closed up in a cold oven (not gas)and it bubbled up great. Not sure how it would do in cold weather, when my kitchen would be much colder. I agree with others that it's best to roll the balls in butter first, then all dry stuff mixed together, then drizzle/sprinkle on what's left. Next time I will try it in a 13 x 9 pan. Also, some said use biscuits, but if you like yeasty bread, this would be better. Thanks, Holly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I took a hint from some of the other reviewers here and did the following: *substituted 2 cans of refrigerated biscuits for the frozen rolls *combined sugars, pudding, cinnamon, walnuts and butter--plus added a splash of vanilla *cut biscuits in eighths, rolled in mixture and arranged in 13x9 pan The result was delicious! I brought it to a moms' group potluck and it was one of the first dishes to disappear. Several people even asked for the recipe. Thanks for this tasty, easy-to-make contribution!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I did as many other reviewers and cut the rolls into 4 pieces, dipped in butter, and rolled in mixture of sugars and pudding. I thought these rolls were very good, but next time I think I will use vanilla pudding instead of butterscotch. I felt that the butterscotch flavor over powered that of the cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, New York, USA
Living In: Hilton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
This is easy to make and comes out looking really nice! It's great if you eat it warm on a rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
great! love the pudding addition. didn't have time to thaw bread so used 1/4'd biscuits instead. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
This EXACT recipe has been a family favorite for years. It's always expected at birthdays and holidays. Glad someone else enjoys this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
So good that I've stopped looking for my "signature" coffeecake! It doesn't get better or easier than this. I followed other reviewers' suggestions to dip the half rolls in butter and then the sugar/pudding/cinnamon mix. Try it with pecans instead of walnuts. The first time I made this it was a flop because the mixture clumped and had lots of dry spots when I made it according to the original directions. Also, another tip is to not overbake it and to remove it from pan after a few minutes as instructed otherwise the gooey topping crystallizes and gets too crunchy. Lastly, I did not need grease/oil for the pan when I used a non-stick bundt pan...came right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
FUN and EASY! My family loves monkey bread and this was a fantastic recipe! I didn't have butterscotch pudding, so I used vanilla and it was still really great! Thank you for a fun pull apart bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
When this turns out, it is wonderful!! I've made it four or five times, but atleast twice it has not turned out right. It probably was an error on my part but I'm not sure what I'm doing differently. Anyway, when it's good, it's very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This deserves more than 5 stars! I was worried about leaving the dough out un-refridgerated all night. But it tasted great and nobody got sick, so I guess it's OK. Like other reviewers I cut each roll into quarters. To make sure that the sugar and pudding were easily distributed I mixed the sugar, cinnamon and pudding in the same bowl then coated each piece of dough in it. Layered them in the pan, after the first layer I sprinkled more of the sugar mix on top then poured half the butter and half of the nuts over it. Repeat with the next layer. I ended up useing about half of the sugar mix because I was worried it would be too sweet, but next time I am going to use more. And I will probaly use extra butter to dip the dough into before I coat with the sugar mix. I cooked it for about 20 minutes and let it sit 10 minutes. It was cooked perfectly, no burnt or crusty top, just gooey sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLELADYJONES

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Primghar, Iowa, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States