Quick and Easy Monkey Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I don't care for the instant pudding mix and usually use the cook and serve. From my experience, the instant makes the rolls a bit gummy. But other than that, this is such an easy recipe and never disappoints with warm delicious rolls. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Could only give this 5 stars with motifications. I did follow some of other reviewers suggestions. First, I DID NOT use 24 oz of dough. Since cutting the balls into 4 pieces each I only use about half the bag or 12 -14 ozs. My pan was only 1/3 full before the rising began. I did roll each piece in melted butter and the cinnamon sugar. I cover bottom of bundt pan and then sprinkled some butterscotch pudding over rolls. Continued until my pan was 1/3 full. It was a very cold day when I tried this and was concerned about the rising so I did this during the daytime. I put in oven for noon until 6pm. Before baking I melted another quarter stick of butter and drizzled on. I also cut back the cooking time by 10 minutes. The "bottom and top" did not get too brown and I had no gooey centers. This can out of pan very easy after sitting 10 minutes. My family DEVOURED immediately and have already requested it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Wonderful- however I had a hard time getting it done and the edges got way too brown. Next time I will try less dough and maybe use a 9X13 pan. With a few minor changes this will be a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Easy recipe! Here's what I did: Set out the frozen rolls for about 20 minutes so they thaw a bit. Cut in half. Roll in Brown Sugar mixture, then in pudding mixture. Layer in 2 bundt pans still adding some of each mixture and butter between layer (and there were just two layers). Popped them in the oven while we opened Santa's gifts. They turned out awesome! My kids (13, 11, 5, 3) were all asking why I didn't make these more often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I followed the recipe exactly, but I think it calls for WAY too much sugar. It was so much sugar that most of it didn't even carmelize and just stayed in chunks that hardened in the oven. We scraped it off and ate the rolls. My sister makes these by dipping the frozen rolls in butter, then rolling them in a cinnamon/sugar mixture. I think that hers is better than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Michigan, USA
Living In: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Loved it!! My only problem was that it burst over my pan overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
Very tasty and easy, too! I used sugar free pudding and Splenda and it turned out great! I also tried substituting the brown sugar with Splenda brown sugar and it was ok, but it more gooey with the regular brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Just like my mother in laws. A tradition on Christmas morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
This is so easy and so delicious. My family loved this bread. Here's how I made mine. I used pecans and vanilla instant pudding mix rolling each roll in butter, then the pudding/brown sugar followed by a roll in the cinnamon/sugar mix. I poured more of each mixture, butter, pecans on each of the two layers. As for the butter, I used half a cup and only ended up using half of the pudding/sugar mix-it just look like too much of a good thing to me. I placed the bunt pan filled with the softend rolls and sugar/butter concoction into my oven over night setting the oven on bread proof. I woke up six hours later to a mess since the rolls had risen so much that some of the sugar coated rolls fell out of the pan. After cleaning up the mess, I baked the bread and it was perfect for my family. I can't get enough of this bread. It is soo good. Enjoy!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIAGULIA3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Good stuff!! Family really liked it. I probably would have been better straight out of the oven--so don't bake it until you're almost ready to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staunton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States