Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This was quick and easy and very tasty. Makes an elegant meal. Only recommendation I would have would be to use a quality salsa if using commercial. Better yet, I'll make my own salsa or pico de gallo next time. Picky brother-in-law liked it so it was good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Love! So simple and tasty. I like to pound out my chicken breasts a little first. Not super thin but just enough so they stay flat when cooking. If not they plump up and the salsa just falls off. I sprinkle both sides with seasonings, lay them in the bottom of a pyrex, and cover with salsa. Bake at 375 for 45ish minutes adding cheese in the last 10. The key is that you have to use a good salsa! I've tried this with fresh salsa, a good store bought, mango salsa, and a bean and corn salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I have been making this Mexican chicken for years now and it is a family favorite. The only thing different I do is cook the entire dish in a skillet. After browning the chicken, I add a 24oz jar of chunky salsa, cover and let simmer for 20 minutes. I then top each chicken breast with shredded Mexican Style cheese and cover until melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I have been using this recipe for about 20 years, and my family loves it!!! I use greek seasoning and broil my chicken on both sides. Then added the salsa and then add the cheese and broil again until bubbly. The salsa and greek seasoning are perfect together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Mosteller
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
This was awesome, but I did change a couple of things after reading reviews. 1) I used taco seasoning instead of the spices listed. 2) I put down a bed of black beans under the chicken breasts before baking. 3) I added cheese after baking the chicken for 10 minutes and just continued cooking until the cheese was bubbly. My kids liked it, so that makes the recipe a real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I used Mrs. Renfro's Hot Jalapeno Green Salsa and 3 blend Mexican cheese. It was delicious. I will definitely make this again. The kids liked it too. I served it over rice and also served corn chips and tomatillo chipotle salsa. Great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Good and easy. I also used the taco seasoning instead of the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Surprisingly good definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dad351w

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Thanks for this easy recipe when I'm stumped about what to make with chicken. I didn't measure the spices and added enough of each spice to coat three very large chicken breasts. The browning step is essential because it locks in moisture and flavor. I will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
This recipe is so easy, but so good. Chicken came out moist and made the whole house smell really good. Only my oldest daughter and me ate it, but we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wheaties

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santee, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States