Quick and Easy Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
I loved this recipe. It is a great, refreshing summer dessert. I used a little extra lemon juice (close to 4 tablespoons) and thought the pie was the perfect balance of sweet and tart. I also used reduced fat cream cheese and sweetened condensed milk, and the recipe turned out well. Note: I never make non-instant pudding and did not realize that it requires the addition of sugar and egg yolks (at least the brand I made did). I am so used to making instant pudding and just adding milk, make sure to have any necessary pudding ingredients on hand. Also, the recipe makes a lot of filling. My market offers larger graham crusts, ten servings instead of the regular eight. I would get that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
After reading other reviews, I used a 10 serving size pie crust and the filling amount was just perfect, added one extra tbls. of lemon juice but will add even more next time. Make sure your cream cheese is room temp. and it will mix in easily with a wire whip. This pie needs at the very least 4 hrs. to set up and even then mine wasn't real cold. I will plan ahead next time so it can chill overnight. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Hart Nagele

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
Being calorie conscious, I used a Keebler low fat graham crust, low fat cream cheese and low calorie condensed milk. It was delicious and not as loaded with calories so I didn't feel guilty having more than one slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Whoo-hoo! First time ever making lemon pie--you guys are going to turn me into a baker, yet! I got the 10-serving pie shell and (oops!) 2-pkgs of 2.9 oz pudding, so I used 1-1/2 pkgs. Really important to cook the pudding until it is super thick and boiling. I used about 1 tsp of zest while stirring the pudding, and 4-1/2 Tbsp of fresh lemon juice for the stir-in. Having the crm cheese at room temp was a great suggestion and I ended up using about 3/4 of the can of cond milk. Chilled overnight, this pie set up really well. It was devoured in under 5 minutes--it took me longer to serve it than it took my family to eat it! Kids loved this, too :-)Next time I will use reg whipping cream instead of cool whip, as I never defrost that stuff the right way. The pie is actually superb without any topping at all. It was a great wrap up to our Memorial Day BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I love this pie. The first time I made it as written and it was good. The amount of tartness and lemon flavor is personal, fortunately this recipe works if you add extra lemon juice. I loved the hints from a previous reviewers: Bring the pudding to a full boil, cubing/softening the cream cheese, and mixing in some of the thawed topping. The second time I made an altered recipe. I used two (2.9oz) packages instead of one large (4.3oz) package. While the pudding was thickened but still boiling hot I took it completely off the stove (instead of turning the heat to low) and add the softened and cubed cream cheese mixing it in with a hand mixer. I added an extra 4 ounces (making a total of 12oz) of cream cheese which made it so creamy delicious. I added more lemon juice for a total of 1 cup of lemon juice. After the condensed milk and lemon juice were mixed in, I added one (8oz) container of completely thawed whipped topping. I used a hand mixer to get everything completely mixed together. After pouring the filling into the graham cracker pie crusts and refrigerating, the pies were set in less than an hour. When ready to serve I topped with additional thawed whipped topping. The additional cream cheese, lemon juice and whipped topping made enough filling for three purchased graham cracker crusts. Like the first pie, made with the original directions, these pies set up beautifully and have the perfect texture and lemony tartness I crave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
What a great summer recipe! I used a baked pastry shell, fat free condensed milk and 1/3 less fat cream cheese. I followed the directions exactly as written. It turned out perfect! Thank you "momof3" for the tip about putting it in the freezer for an hour before placing it in the refrigerator. I'll be making this a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHA4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Covington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
I couldn't find the large size lemon pudding at either store I looked, so I had to wing it with 1 1/2 boxes of the small kind. I was concerned that the consistency wouldn't turn out right, but it turned out perfectly (made the necessary adjustments w/the ingred. called for to make the pudding.)A great treat in the sweltering heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
This was wonderful! Quick, easy and delicious. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIE FITZGERALD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wonewoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Valle, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
Nothing but compliments. I was doubtful of this recipe, but tried it anyway at Thanksgiving. Everyone LOVED it...It was the surprise hit of the Dessert table. Instead of graham cracker crust, I used a ready made flour crust...BEAUTIFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I thought this pie was just ok. Mine didn't set at all and so I wasn't able to cut it into peices. It had a decent flavor but I thought it needed more "tart" taste to it. Would make a good pudding though. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States