Quick and Easy Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Excellent pie. However, I did have to add more lemon juice - probably 1/3 c. in all. Next time I'll add some lemon zest as well. Great idea by at least one reviewer to cube the cream cheese - worked perfectly. I used a regular flour pastry that I had made - I much prefer the crisp pastry with the creaminess of the filling. I used whipped cream rather than Cool Whip and folded some of it into the cooled filling. The quantity easily filled two whole pies. I'll be making this again for sure. All our guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Between a pudding pie and a cream cheese pie. Very good. Be sure to cook pudding per pie instructions. Add more lemon juice and zest and about half of the cool whip added gives pie a lighter texture. A little labor intensive but well worth it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I thought this recipe was great on its own, however, for company, I decided to use a refrigerated pie crust that I baked before filling. I made it the day before so the pie would have plenty of time to "set". The next day I made raspberry sauce (from this site) and once that was cooled and thickened, I spread it on the pie and refrigerated until just before I was ready to serve it. I made my own whipped cream using heavy cream, spread that on top and garnished with fresh raspberries and mint leaves (for color). Oh my, the 2 flavors of lemon and raspberry blended beautifully. Everyone raved about the dessert, including my husband who was never a fan of lemon pie. I forgot to mention I had the smaller pudding boxes and ended up using 3, but doubling the rest of the ingredients, as I wanted extra filling to make parfaits for my gluten free family members. Thanks for posting a wonderful recipe I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
This was easy and very delicious. Big hit with the family. I will say that it was difficult finding cook lemon pudding. Next time I find it...I will purchase several boxes...so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rmacmillans6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Yummy! I did add an extra tablespoon of lemon juice and also added lemon zest in the filling for more zing. Make sure you use the pie directions and not the pudding directions on the box when preparing the pie filling or it might be too thin for your liking. To make the cream cheese blend a bit easier soften it to room temperature, cut it into 1" cubes and then stir in. This is just personal preference, but I don't like the taste of cool-whip, so I use Reddi-whip instead. But you have to add this on the pie slices as you serve them so it doesn't 'deflate' on the pie. And lastly, the second time I made it, I used a pre-cooked and cooled pie dough crust - more work of course, but super yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
The was the best lemon pie ever recipe was modified slight when mix pudding add 50% less water which allows the batter to thicken to a cheese cake texture I call it Lemon Cream Cheese Pie also add 3tbsp lemon juice to recipe boost flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is my second time making this pie and I sure hope it comes out better than the first time. My first shot at making it was not so good because I had a hard time with getting the cream cheese to mix in well, and I found it to be a little too sweet for my liking. This time I followed another reviewer's advice and cubed and softened the cream cheese. I also cut the sugar but not too much. I also added another tablespoon of lemon juice. The mixture tasted fantastic! I'm waiting for it to set right. One thing is that I have a lot of leftover filling. I couldn't find a 4.3oz pudding package, so I used two 2.9oz packages. I'm not sure if that's the reason I have so much leftover. I refuse to let it go to waste, so now I'm about to find another way to use it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Opelousas, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llmcc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I love this pie. The first time I made it as written and it was good. The amount of tartness and lemon flavor is personal, fortunately this recipe works if you add extra lemon juice. I loved the hints from a previous reviewers: Bring the pudding to a full boil, cubing/softening the cream cheese, and mixing in some of the thawed topping. The second time I made an altered recipe. I used two (2.9oz) packages instead of one large (4.3oz) package. While the pudding was thickened but still boiling hot I took it completely off the stove (instead of turning the heat to low) and add the softened and cubed cream cheese mixing it in with a hand mixer. I added an extra 4 ounces (making a total of 12oz) of cream cheese which made it so creamy delicious. I added more lemon juice for a total of 1 cup of lemon juice. After the condensed milk and lemon juice were mixed in, I added one (8oz) container of completely thawed whipped topping. I used a hand mixer to get everything completely mixed together. After pouring the filling into the graham cracker pie crusts and refrigerating, the pies were set in less than an hour. When ready to serve I topped with additional thawed whipped topping. The additional cream cheese, lemon juice and whipped topping made enough filling for three purchased graham cracker crusts. Like the first pie, made with the original directions, these pies set up beautifully and have the perfect texture and lemony tartness I crave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
We loved this! It does take quite a while to set up, so I suggest making it the night before. As other reviews stated there was extra filling, so I filled the mini graham pie cups for the kids and they loved it. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States