Quick and Easy Indian-Style Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
This is a GREAT little recipe. I made some tiny changes to it and it was absolutely delicious. Instead of the chili powder I added a little bit of fresh chili chopped up into the mixture, and as I don't like frozen anything, I made it from fresh, garden grown and freshly picked okra.... YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I make this recipe frequently. Indian food is not always supposed to be spicey and the amount of spices is just right. Wonderful easy recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I've made this several times without the asafoedita, and it's always tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
I decreased the oil to 2 Tbsp and used fresh okra and it was delicious and easy! I also used cayenne pepper instead of chili powder. It's well flavored but not too spicy. If you really want the burn, add more spices or peppers---I'll do this next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Louis Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I hate okra but I am trying to eat a wider variety of vegetables so decided to try it. I actually find it GOOD. Yes, it's not the spiciest Indian dish but it's still okra cooked well. I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
Awesome stuff, though I modified the spices to what I had on hand - garam masala, coriander and cumin. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This was a pleasant surprise. The favors blended well for me. I didn't have a couple of the spices, but it still worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Mountain, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This is a great dish. The Indian spices were just right -- definitely not what I would call spicy-hot, just good and flavorful. The dish is not so exotic that not-so-adventurous palates wouldn't like the dish. I really liked the onion and tomato combination with the okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This dish was extremely bland to my taste. I am American, but I cook only Indian food for myself and my Indian fiance. We are used to spices- not terribly hot chili spice (he's actually very sensitive to chilis), but just lots of cumin, coriander, turmeric, ginger, etc. But when I made this recipe, even though I added twice the stated amounts of each spice (as Manisha said the spices could be increased, and I knew the amounts were very small for our tastes), AND I added chopped fresh coriander, it was still disappointingly bland. I also used about 1/2 of the recommended oil. I gave the recipe 2 stars because it still has some of the basic ingredients for a good okra dish, and it may be good in a pinch (when you're not in the mood to chop/measure out a bunch of ingredients).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States