Quick and Easy Indian-Style Okra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This is a great dish. The Indian spices were just right -- definitely not what I would call spicy-hot, just good and flavorful. The dish is not so exotic that not-so-adventurous palates wouldn't like the dish. I really liked the onion and tomato combination with the okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This dish was extremely bland to my taste. I am American, but I cook only Indian food for myself and my Indian fiance. We are used to spices- not terribly hot chili spice (he's actually very sensitive to chilis), but just lots of cumin, coriander, turmeric, ginger, etc. But when I made this recipe, even though I added twice the stated amounts of each spice (as Manisha said the spices could be increased, and I knew the amounts were very small for our tastes), AND I added chopped fresh coriander, it was still disappointingly bland. I also used about 1/2 of the recommended oil. I gave the recipe 2 stars because it still has some of the basic ingredients for a good okra dish, and it may be good in a pinch (when you're not in the mood to chop/measure out a bunch of ingredients).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
I've made this several times without the asafoedita, and it's always tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This is a decent okra dish, but it's not a very good Indian okra dish. I doubled the spices and added half of a jalapeno, and it still seemed to be missing something, so I added coriander and fresh ginger, and I topped it with chopped cilantro. Nope, still missing something. I love the okra at our favorite Indian restaurant, and although I didn't expect this to taste like that, I expected more flavor. Thanks, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
I decreased the oil to 2 Tbsp and used fresh okra and it was delicious and easy! I also used cayenne pepper instead of chili powder. It's well flavored but not too spicy. If you really want the burn, add more spices or peppers---I'll do this next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saint Louis Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I make this recipe frequently. Indian food is not always supposed to be spicey and the amount of spices is just right. Wonderful easy recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I give this one 2 stars, but due to operator error :) I love okra but don't cook it very often so mine turned out really stringy. Guess those special spices are pretty important too; I had to eliminate a couple and the resulting flavor was not what I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I'm sorry, but I did not care for this recipe at all. Please learn from my mistake and save yourself the trouble. This was so bland; I more than doubled the spices and still it didn't taste flavorful at all. In fact it tasted pretty bad (before and after adding more spices). I tried to fix it up, but really this recipe isn't even worth experimenting with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This was a pleasant surprise. The favors blended well for me. I didn't have a couple of the spices, but it still worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Mountain, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
This is a GREAT little recipe. I made some tiny changes to it and it was absolutely delicious. Instead of the chili powder I added a little bit of fresh chili chopped up into the mixture, and as I don't like frozen anything, I made it from fresh, garden grown and freshly picked okra.... YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Indian-Style Okra

See how to make easy East Indian-style okra in the skillet.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States