Quick and Easy Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 29, 2011
excellent, so easy! I have never made homefries before, but these turned out better than i expected! I took the advice of some reviweres, added oil as well to crisp the potatoes more and added chopped vidalia onion as well as some garlic salt. All in all, i will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Great! I doubled the recipe, added minced onions, onion and garlic powder, and parsley flakes. It does have a lot of butter. I lined a plate with paper towels and put the potatoes on it. I made muffins, cut them in half and placed the halves in the iron skillet I used to cook potatoes. Beautifully buttered muffins, no waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Husband

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Great easy recipe. I cooked a couple slices of bacon first and added 1TBSP of the oil. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Yum, yum, yum! A hit at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
They were really good! I used 4 potatoes and kept everything else the same; could have cut the butter to 2 tablespoons. I cut them pretty small and had to cook for about 8 minutes longer. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
These were great, and I made them exactly as written. I was worried that they would not cook through in the allotted time (they did) and that they would not get a lovely golden brown color with the lid on (they did). I made them in a few minutes on a weekday for a quick breakfast for supper. It is a good thing they turned out well as everyone hated my strata, so this is all we ate. ;-) Make with confidence! I will add these to my Easter Brunch menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
These were simple, quick & yummy! Only thing I changed was to use Season Salt instead of regular salt. Next time I might try it with a little onion and maybe a little ham and cheese to make a meal out of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
simple and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen914
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Delicious! 5 stars for cooking method, I was afraid of making this recipe as I tried making hash browns before (I know these aren't hash browns but you can't ignore the similarities) and it turned out disastrous. But this is totally full proof! And customizable too! What I did was used 1 tablespoon of unsalted butter, 1 tablespoon of olive oil, and one HALF a tablespoon of bacon grease (So I do agree with others that it doesn't need the full 3 tablespoons of oils). Mine took only about 15 minutes total to cook but that could be because I cubed them quite small. Soaked them in ice water for like 30 minutes (but I'm sure that doesn't make any difference, I only did it because I had something to do between cubing and cooking and I didn't want them to get brown. Instead of just salt and pepper I added Cajun seasoning (Look up 'Cajun Spice Mix' here on allrecipes) a little the first 10 minutes and then to taste the last 2-3 minutes, the same with more salt. I also added a little green onion and yellow onion in the last 3 minutes. Turned out DELICIOUS this way. Will be sure to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Good. Better than frozen and very easy to prepare. I will add some garlic and onion next time I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States