Quick and Easy Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 5, 2007
If you like your potatoes crisp you must add your favorite oil to this recipe either with or without butter and don't cover. The potatoes will brown their best if you don't 'play with them', just let them cook/brown turning occasionally, also for a little added flavor add a little garlic salt and onion powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
882 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I made these in my cast iron skillet, used 2 T of butter, which was plenty, and added onion during the second 10 minutes. The timing was perfect and they turned out amazing! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
567 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Always delicious! I make sure to wipe them dry with a clean kitchen towel before I throw them in the skillet, so they're really crispy. And I do use olive oil most of the time instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
431 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frenchgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dijon, Bourgogne, France
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Good Base recipe. I used canola oil and butter and dried off potatoes with paper towel after cutting them and they were nice and crispy when cooked. The key is not to keep stirring the potatoes if you want them crisp on the outside. I put some diced bell pepper and chopped onions. Also garlic powder and onion salt to taste. Thanks for giving me the idea for a nice compliment with our Saturday morning omelettes and fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oldsingledad

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
I had never made home fries before and was very nervous that they would either come out undercooked or mushy. These were excellent. Crispy on the outside and perfectly cooked on the inside. I also added some diced vidalia onion with the potatoes. Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZA COOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freeport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
If you slice the potatoes instead of cubing them the cooking time is about right. I did 15 mins cover on and 10 off. I like this version of home fried potatoes...if you want the crispy version fry them in oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCmofo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2005
We make these a lot ~ for breakfast, dinner, and late-night snacking. I add chopped onion and sometimes cut up pieces of bacon (yum). You can really play with the spices here ~ whatever appeals to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Finally a fool-proof home fries recipe! We used red bliss potatoes with rosemary, then threw in some minced garlic for the second 10 minutes. They came out perfect. Great with any meal. Almost impossible to mess these up! This has now become my official home fries recipe. Thanks Angie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This is a great base for home fries. Like any other recipe everyone has their preference. Some people swear by bacon grease, others by oil - cook the potatoes in whatever you like and get them just as crispy as you like. Thin sliced or cubed with or without onions or spices. Home fries are a Sunday breakfast tradition that go great with any kind of egg, bacon and toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Made these this morning, used yukon golds and added some onion as well. Family loves these nice and crispy with salt,pepper,and ketchup. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States