Quick and Easy Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I love quick and easy. The only changes I made was to use red potatoes, and starting the potatoes in my cast iron skillet and then putting it into the oven to finish with the breakfast casserole I was baking. I wish I had made more, because they were eaten very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Easy basic recipe as is. I do often substitute a little bit of bacon grease for flavoring and add sliced onion along with the potatoes. Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I followed the recipe but fried some bacon and then used the left over grease mixed with the butter while cooking. Then I wrapped it up by sprinkling pieces of bacon into the potatoes while they cooked uncovered for the final minute. They came out great. Crispy outside with a soft inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is how I have fried my potatoes my entire life, except for the lid, which I never use. Garlic salt or powder, salt & pepper to taste. Occasionally throw in Italian seasoning, onion or bacon, depending on my mood. Good basic recipe and pretty much fool proof, unless you try to crowd in too many potatoes - then they don't crisp up as well. My family loves these with eggs and bacon or sausage. I always cook them in my old cast iron pan, and no camping trip is complete without these potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maxwell, California, USA
Living In: Pittsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe...nothing like real butter and high heat! I brown mine like this recipe, then I add chopped onions & red bell peppers and season w/Greek seasoning or Adobo and plenty of pepper! I finish at low heat uncovered.....Do not turn the taters anymore than absolutely necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slide

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ripley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Pomeroy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I always microwave my potatoes before pan frying, it makes things go so much faster. I like onion in my hash browns, so while the potatoes are in the microwave I start the onions in the skillet. I also add paprika to help w/the browning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was an awesome home fries recipe turned out so tasty and it was fast not like the usual hash brown recipes. Easy just dice throw in pan and put lid on till tender toss to brown. Thumbs Up! So happy I looked here for the best home fries recipe to date!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Super easy and simple. I did use olive oil instead of butter but other than that followed the directions. Thanks for demystifying home fries :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
A very helpful recipe, I never could get my home fries right. My potatoes did take longer to cook than the recipe stated. I like to add onions and garlic salt after taking off the lid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bridges Coffey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
easy & yummy. I added a bit of red pepper too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States