Quick and Easy Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Jrinagrl
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I had the best breakfast in a while. Made this with the fluffy eggs recipes....perfection. it was simple and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roselle, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is as good as home-cooked potatoes get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
What a great way to use up potatoes! I had a few (they were getting soft, and still turned out with a perfect texture!) that I didn't want to spend a lot of time on, and tried this recipe on a whim. I sliced the potatoes into traditional french fry-shaped sticks, and followed the recipe exactly. The fries were a little brown on the side that got 10 minutes covered, and a few were soft when the batch was done, so next time I might start stirring a little sooner. Other than that, the recipe was amazing! My husband loved them, saying they were as good as the restaurant fries we had eaten last night. Easy and delicious - thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by niyog8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Pretty good basic recipe, followed pretty much as written except didn't use russet but 'white premium'. I used a non-stick pan, about 1.5 tbsp butter (stick measurement) since I was too lazy to try to measure out the scaled down amounts. For my one & half potato took about 7 mins uncovered since I cut them down to small bite sized cubes & didn't want to burn them. They came out basically really crisp brown on one side yet cooked soft on the inside - like diners. Yes, quick and easy home fries. I ate it all with ketchup on the side as if dining out....will be trying other variations as others have mentioned. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
These are the kind of fries I have always made. They are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
1/12: quick and easy way to make potatoes. do not cover. use butter and evoo. and don't move them too often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Great recipe! I only used half of a potato because I wanted to try it out for myself for breakfast. It came out great! I added onion and cooked it with the potato according to the recipe. Salt pepper and ketchup on the side, and they tasted like they were fresh from a diner, crispy outside, soft inside. awesome. I used less butter and the time was a lot shorter because I had less potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glory E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Johnson City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I also sliced, which makes them a little harder to turn (the suction) but they were still delicious--tender inside and crispy outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Leenda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Simple, but a great recipe to start with. I used 3 Yukon gold potatoes, 1 Tbsp butter, and a cast iron skillet. They tasted just like diner home fries (the butter is the key to the diner taste, I think). Mine didn't really crisp up, but I used much less fat and didn't dry them after dicing. I also added in diced onion, green pepper, breakfast sausage, and mushroom after uncovering and cooked everything probably an extra 10 minutes. I know that varies considerably from the base recipe here, but I wanted something that tasted just like diner fries to accompany my french toast, and this recipe got exactly the results I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Gledhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
Good and easy just as stated. I did add sliced onions a few minutes before the end. Tasted so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shals

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Quick and Easy Crepes

See how to make light, delicious homemade crepes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States