Quick and Easy Grilled Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I tried this and liked this but I like my way better and I think it's easier. Throwing it out there for anyone else who loves potatoes any-which-way as much as I do! Boil some medium sized whole red skinned (or whatever type you have on hand) potatoes in water on the stove till they are soft enough that a fork goes into them easily but they are not mushy. Doesn't take long -- maybe 10 minutes. Drain water and cool by running cold water through pot. Once cool enough to handle, slice them in "O's" the short way. You want them softened but not so soft that they won't hold together after slicing. Dump your slices into a bowl with a little olive oil, salt and herbs -- I tend to use herbes de provence but anything you like will do -- and mux them around til coated. You can also drizzle a little lemon or parmesan if you like those tastes. Put them on a hot grill and watch them. Grill until browned -- flipping them half way through. They can be done in as little as 5-10 minutes. We dip in ketchup, sour cream, anything tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I have been making these for awhile now. I thought that I had developed a new way to enjoy potatoes, but now see that others have been doing this too. I take medium sized Russets, wash but leave the skin on. Then slice length wise into 3 or 4 flat long pieces, usually about 1/2" thick. I put these in a microwave safe bowl and sprinkle with salt, fresh black pepper,some garlic powder, a bit of sugar, and extra virgin olive oil. I'll leave this set for 15-20 minutes to draw out some of the moisture, and infuse the spices into the slices. Then, microwave until about 3/4 cooked, stir once in the middle of cooking. On my microwave (1100 watts), this takes about 3 minutes plus for two nice Russets. Then brown on the grill for another 5-10 minutes. I serve with sour cream, and whipped cream cheese, but lots of other toppings would also be great. These are our summer "go to" potatoes. Everyone can just take the amount they want, and not have to face a large baked potato if they don't want to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I love it my way too!!!! Just add a pressed garlic to the olive oil! I promise you will never have it plain again! I also, slice a potato in 4 long strips to speed up the cooking process. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Great side dish served with sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Great, easy way to dress up the potato for a grilled steak dinner. Try this with sweet potatoes, my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mammoth Lakes, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Good, but much better if you sprinkle them with greek seasoning spice mix before grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sd
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
this was very good using peculiarmike's suggestion of using bacon grease.. I can see how this might have been a bit bland with just the olive oil, S&P.. either way it came out great.. ty for the recipe and ty peculiarmike!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Made these last night. Perfect for grilling. I would have never thought to do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by burlterri
Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States