Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Great recipe, my family loved it! I couldn't find green chili enchilada sauce, so I used red sauce and added a can of chopped green chilies. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
OMG!! This recipe was SO GOOD!! And easy!! Since their are only two of us, I did make a few modifications but tried to stay as true to the recipe as possible. Instead of chicken breasts, I used the meat from a precooked rotisserie chicken instead and omitted the garlic salt. Tore 6 corn tortillas into quarters, used a 15 ounce can green chile enchilada sauce, used 8 ounce package shredded Monterrey Jack cheese, and 1/2 carton--4 ounces--sour cream. Followed recipe to layer ingredients and baked at same temp/time suggested. Again, could not have dreamed how good this would be! Thank you so much for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Delicious... family raved about it. I put my chicken breasts in the crockpot at lunch and then shredded it when I got home, popped the casserole in the oven and dinner was ready with ease. I followed the other reviews and mixed the chicken and sour cream before spreading over the tortillas. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alison Rigney
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
I cut a few corners, but overall this was good! It made a LOT, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Rigney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Loved this. I added onions, garlic, and extra cheese. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Love this recipe but I tweaked it a little. I deboned a rotisserie chicken already cooked from store. Added a can of chopped green chilies and used plain Fayo Greek yogurt in place of sour cream. I tore corn tortillas in quarters. It rocked! Will def make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
My family and I didn't like this a whole lot. We didn't hate it, but it is not a recipe I will repeat. The only addition I made was to add cumin to the shredded chicken, as I love cumin very much, and I always put it in any Mexican or Southwestern recipe. The flavor is ok, but not enough for us. The texture is probably the biggest issue for us. Kind of mushy. At first I was trying to think of some ways to change it next time for more flavor, such as adding a can of green chilies to the chicken for some heat, but after talking to my family while we ate about what I might try to do different next time, I realized they weren't very enthusiastic, so I'll not try it again. It's ok, and I'm glad so many people love it, as I always feel bad when I don't give a recipe a rave review. But I do try and be honest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Very similar to a dish I made up myself a few weeks ago, except I used corn taco shells broken in half, and salsa verde from Trader Joe's. Also added a diced onion and a can of drained black beans along w/the chicken. Hubs doesn't like sour cream, so left that out and added it to mine after cooking. Cilantro would be great too - will try that next time. Very much like enchiladas verdes, but gluten free, and less work in casserole form. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I have tried this recipe several times and it is a delicious recipe as is! It is VERY simple as written. The thing I love about this recipe is you can use any type of chicken, cut, ripped, baked boiled, or rotisserie. It all works. You can mix the sour cream with the chicken, which I too prefer, or dollop it on. I do find Jack Cheese is best and melts great in this recipe, but again that is personal preference. I might throw in some Mozzarella next time, but I do love it with white cheeses... pairs really well with the mild taste of Green Enchilada sauce. Top with Green Onion and sliced Black Olives YUM! I like Salsa and Sour Cream on the side for guests so they can add to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosemary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Excellent. Did not char the tortillas. Came out fine. Will be making again many, many times. Very good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States