Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Our family loved this recipe! We mixed the chicken and sour cream to make the layering easier. We used 1/2 28 oz can hot enchilada sauce in the pan and to pre-soak the tortillas. We used most of a large size jar of 505 Mild Enchilada sauce for the layering in a 9x13 pan. This did not make it soupy or lengthen cooking time. Super tasty with just a little bite! Definitely a keeper for us! Enjoy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama and Daughters

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
I made this over the weekend for cinco de mayo. If I could give it another 1/2 star based on changes I made I would rate it a little better. There is nothing quick about the recipe but if I had bought a pre-cooked chicken that would have cut down on the time. Also, when charring the tortillas I had 3 burners going at once to save time. I parboiled the chicken in chicken stock, onion and garlic. After shredding I added garlic powder, salt, cayenne and taco seasoning as it would have been way too bland otherwise. I then added a small can of sliced olives and the sour cream to the chicken. Upon serving I put sour cream, spicy salsa, green onions and cilantro on top. The condiments really completed the dish. My husband and his friend kept going back for more servings so I knew it was good. I'm not much of a casserole girl but as far as casseroles go this is one I will make a couple times a year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
This recipe is GREAT! Rave reviews from all who ate it...even as left overs! The guys said "you should keep this recipe", so I think it's a winner. Super easy too! I had to use the red enchilada sauce due to availability but it was super great! This will probably become a regular in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
We really enjoyed this casserole. I added some sauteed green pepper, yellow pepper, and onion to the chicken mixture and mixed it all in with the sour cream. I was glad I added the veggies in as they gave a nice flavor and added quite a bit to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Made this as other reviewers did, mixing the sour cream and chicken together as added taco seasoning too. My husband and sons loved it. Will be making this many times again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
WOW! This was sooooo easy and amazingly flavorful. I will most certainly be making this again. Thanks. I used garlic rotisserie chicken for ease and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
The whole family loved it. Next time I make it, I will use more enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Barbourville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
i added a can of black beans. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
AMAZING!!! I will definitely make this again. I boiled my chicken with onions on stovetop instead of the oven. Much faster. After shredding, I mixed the chicken with sour cream and taco seasoning as suggested from everyone's comments. I'm glad I did, otherwise the chicken would probably be bland. I cooked everything else I directed on the recipe. The tortilla's do get softer but overall the casserole kept its shape. I think the reason why is because I let it sit for ten minutes to allow the sauce to harden/thicken. I will use crunchier tortillas for the next time. The other thing I would change the next time would be adding a little more spice or veggies such as bell peppers, cilantro and onions. I would also mix green onion on the top layer with the cheese as a garnish. Other than that, this was fabulous and fairly easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LagunaLala
Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This is really good and will surely be making this again soon! I would give 5 stars if recipe would have stated the extra spices. You really need to add some more seasoning to the chicken. I boiled my chicken and did not bake. As previous reviewers suggested, I mixed shredded chicken with sour cream and I added a lot of taco seasoning, some cumin, garlic salt and cayenne pepper. I just kept adding until I could taste something. I made more than recipe calls for and used a big glass pan. I did not have a 1/2" of sauce on bottom of pan but maybe 1/4" or so. Due to making a larger amount, I kept it in oven for an additional 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LagunaLala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States