Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
I was too hungry to bake the chicken so I cooked it on the stovetop. Since I was too hungry to let it cool before shredding the chicken, I chopped it up with my food chopper. I skipped the charring step since I don't have a gas stove but I tore tortillas into fourths as suggested. WOW! This recipe was great!! My fiance and I both loved it and almost finished the whole pan in one sitting. I'll definetely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
I Love this recipe! I made a couple of adjustments to make it work better for me. I grilled my chicken on my George Foreman and browned my tortilla's in a skillet on the stove. My husband asked me to add black olives. I used 20 oz of the chile sauce. It was absolutely wonderful. Thank you! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
YUMM!!! I added a packet of taco seasoning to the sour cream as was suggested, and it added great flavor. Instead of baking, I boiled a small chicken and shredded half of it. using the amt. of sour cream in the recipe, I ran out for the top layer and used more. That might be because I used a 9x13 casserole dish, but the rest of the ingredients were proportional. My picky hubby loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Excellent recipe. I served this tonight for dinner and my family loved it. I used the entire 28 oz. of the green chile enchilada sauce and did not have a soupy casserole. Here's how I prepared this recipe: I used a 9x13 baking dish and greased it with Crisco. To save time, I used two boxes of Tyson's diced chicken breast meat located in the freezer section at the grocery store. I cooked the chicken breast meat in a skillet and used cooking shears to further cut up the diced chicken meat. I seasoned the chicken with garlic salt as instructed. I did not char my tortillas. I tore each tortilla into about 6 pieces. After placing 1/2" of sauce on the bottom of the baking dish, I placed the rest of the sauce into a pie plate to coat the remaining torn tortilla pieces as instructed. I did not pour any of the sauce onto the layers. I found that coating all the remaining torn tortilla pieces completely soaked up all the sauce. Maybe that is how I avoided a soupy casserole as others have experienced. I don't know that for sure though. I added the sour cream to the cooked chicken and mixed it up. I found the mixed chicken and sour cream mixture easier to spread than trying to spread sour cream on top of the chicken and shredded cheese. After baking, I let it sit for about 10 minutes before serving. I am delighted to have found this recipe. I hope you try it.I served this with spanish rice and warmed tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
881 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
Updated: I've been making this dish for years now, and I just tried it using leftover turkey. Tastes just as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Del Mar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2002
I too modified this due to what I had on hand. I had a 10 ounce can of mild enchilada sauce so I used it sparingly, but it still came out great. I shredded the cooked chicken and mixed it with the low fat sour cream and a half pack of taco seasoning. I only used two tortillas for each layer and dipped them in the enchilada sauce individually. I poured the little remaining over the top. I also covered with shredded cheese and baked uncoverd which gave it a nice crispy top if you like that sort of thing. This was so easy and so yummy! I will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA
Living In: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Tried this for the first time last evening....YUMMY! And very easy to put together. Everyone who tasted it gave it 5-stars. However I did not bake the chicken but poached it in a bit of water seasoned with salt, taco seasoning and Emeril's Essence (saving time and energy costs). Next time I may kick it up a notch and use half pepper jack cheese and half regular jack...I like spicy stuff! Thanks for 'a keeper' Tracy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Wow, this was a BIG hit. My husband LOVED this chicken enchilada dish, even more than his mother's recipe. Excellent dish, the directions were a tad bit confusing, but I figured it out. Overall, wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
My husband (and I) LOVED this. He couldn't even talk during dinner because his mouth was full the entire time! The recipe was pretty easy too. This is definitely a keeper in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2003
This one is definitely worth all 5 stars. Tastes great and easy to make. I used ground turkey instead of the chicken and I did not char the tortillas but tore them as Tracy suggested. This made it even quicker and easier. I had a smaller can of sauce than what the recipe called for and I was afraid that it would be too dry, so I used about 6 oz of salsa too. It was actually just right. Not soupy at all. Thanks to Tracy for sharing and to all who previously reviewed for their suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 550) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States