Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I pretty much followed the directions exactly on this except I added some taco seasoning to the meat. It was ok and my husband even ate a second helping, but we have had better enchilada recipes. It wasn't soupy, but there was no crunch to it. The corn tortillas had soaked up so much sauce that they fell apart and could barely be identified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LareinaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saegertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Friendsville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
LOVE this recipe!! Maybe not so quick but certainly easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This one is now in the regular dinner rotation! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I cut the recipe in half for my husband and I. Wonderful. I also added 1 cup fresh corn, 1/4 cup sliced black olives and used cheddar/jack shreaded cheese. Will be making this again. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
My husband loved it! I didn't use all of the sour cream because he doesn't like it, but you can't taste it that much. Will definitely use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Wonderful and delicious recipe! Brought it to a party and it was a huge hit! Gone within minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
How I wish I had read all reviews before making this one! The "prep time" listed of 30 minutes is incredibly inaccurate: If you are supposed to char 36 tortilla halves for 1 minute each... Well, you can do the math. I made this recipe exactly as directed except I didn't char the tortillas, used Pepper Jack cheese instead of plain Monterrey Jack, and cooked for 30 min. instead of 45 with it uncovered for the last 8 min. or so. It is decent -- not too soupy, which was a real concern after reading the reviews. Next time I will make the following changes: 1) Omit the sour cream and serve it on the side with the hot dish. It gets "lost" in here anyway. 2) Substitute tortilla chips or tostadas for the tortillas. This may give the dish some much needed texture. 3) Use a shredded rotisserie chicken to save time. 4) Add some good quality salsa, green or red. This will cover onion, garlic, etc. I live not far from the border and am blessed to have some excellent Mexican restaurants nearby with outstanding homemade fresh salsas. 5) Use a combination of cheeses, like Mexican Blend. I used a good quality canned green enchilada sauce from a restaurant chain, and it is full of flavor. I think that made all the difference; this dish would have been very bland otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
This recipe is sooo delicious! Just wasn't sure what size baking dish to use. I think next time i'll use 9x12. Also I added mushrooms and fresh spinach to the casserole because I enjoy them in enchiladas. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Everyone kept asking me for this recipe at my Sister's baby shower it was so delicious! I love it because it was super easy and just so yummy! I seasoned the chicken with garlic, olive oil, onions, garlic pepper, and kosher salt and sauteed the chicken breast in a pan and then shredded the chicken and followed the recipe. I like to add chopped Cilantro as a garnish with Mexican Cotija cheese crumbled or Queso Fresco. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms.kiki 99 :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South San Francisco, California, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Delicious & easier than the recipe I usually use. Family loved it! It is not too spicy for a kid's palate, yet it is not bland, either. I made as directed except I had a lot of unused tortillas left over. I think it was because my pan was about a 10" square foil roaster about 4" deep. I used 2 10 oz. cans of Kroger brand green enchilaa sauce, and it was still plenty saucy. This is a really flexible recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Seeley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 599) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States