Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Made this for the first time for a potluck picnic and it was a HIT. I halved the recipe, 2.5 quart casserole dish, boiled the chicken instead of baking (first time!), and mixed the sour cream with chili powder (so good, do try), did not char the tortillas but tore them - turned out perfect. Try to leave a few tortillas at the top next to the casserole dish for some extra crispiness. Next time I will make my own salsa verde (tomatillos, white onion, cilantro, season from there) as the canned one I used was too spicy but this has nothing to do with this particular recipe. Thank you so much! Yummy, comforting, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by czhiggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I wouldn't make this again but it was a passable dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made this for my boyfriend and he loved it! I knew I wanted to make it spicy- so I added a jalapeno, cilantro, and lemon to the store bought sauce. It really kicked it up a notch. As suggested in other reviews, I mixed the sour cream in with the chicken. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and I would totally recommend it. I used a 9 by 13 pan and I wouldn't recommend anything smaller or bigger - that size is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Easy and quick! I followed other suggestions and coated chicken with sour cream before layering. My green chile sauce that I bought didn't have much kick so I mixed in a small jar of green chiles. Perfect served with spanish rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Really good except I used flour tortillas. Do not do this - the texture is rather slimy. The flavors are spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslijo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I used leftover pork carne adovada in this recipe--I think using a pre-spiced meat is key to making this good. I fried my corn tortillas in oil and drained them on paper towels before using them. I added chopped onion to the filling. This was simple and easy--it literally was all put together in a half hour. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
My BF didn't like this recipe at all. I did. The only things I did differently were these: I didn't char the tortillas because of the time factor, the texture wasn't perfect, but it still tasted good; I had some left over diced tomatoes that I added into the sour cream/chicken mix; I used Mexican 4 cheese blend instead of Monterey Jack because it's what I had; I used regular sour cream because I use real everything; I cut the recipe in half since it's just the two of us, worked fine. The leftover's the next day were still good! I was very pleased! Especially now that I know when I make it next time I'll have a tasty lunch every day for a week since BF won't eat it! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made this for our block party and it was a hit! I also added taco seasoning to the chicken and sour cream mixture and 2 sm. cans red enchilada sauce and one can green. My kids don't like things that are green! =) I also used 6 chicken breast, 4 wasn't enough. Thanks for sharing! The kids already want me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clawson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
My roommate and I make a similar meal all the time, but I really like the idea of turning enchiladas into a casserole- saves so much time! To make it extra rich, mix some cream of chicken soup with the sour cream. We like ours extra saucy, so remember you can never have too much sauce! Also, to make this even simpler, it's very good with a pre-cooked deli rotisserie chicken, or chicken that's cooked in a crock pot all day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piper_says

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States