Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Really good except I used flour tortillas. Do not do this - the texture is rather slimy. The flavors are spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslijo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I used leftover pork carne adovada in this recipe--I think using a pre-spiced meat is key to making this good. I fried my corn tortillas in oil and drained them on paper towels before using them. I added chopped onion to the filling. This was simple and easy--it literally was all put together in a half hour. No leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
My BF didn't like this recipe at all. I did. The only things I did differently were these: I didn't char the tortillas because of the time factor, the texture wasn't perfect, but it still tasted good; I had some left over diced tomatoes that I added into the sour cream/chicken mix; I used Mexican 4 cheese blend instead of Monterey Jack because it's what I had; I used regular sour cream because I use real everything; I cut the recipe in half since it's just the two of us, worked fine. The leftover's the next day were still good! I was very pleased! Especially now that I know when I make it next time I'll have a tasty lunch every day for a week since BF won't eat it! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made this for our block party and it was a hit! I also added taco seasoning to the chicken and sour cream mixture and 2 sm. cans red enchilada sauce and one can green. My kids don't like things that are green! =) I also used 6 chicken breast, 4 wasn't enough. Thanks for sharing! The kids already want me to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clawson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
My roommate and I make a similar meal all the time, but I really like the idea of turning enchiladas into a casserole- saves so much time! To make it extra rich, mix some cream of chicken soup with the sour cream. We like ours extra saucy, so remember you can never have too much sauce! Also, to make this even simpler, it's very good with a pre-cooked deli rotisserie chicken, or chicken that's cooked in a crock pot all day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piper_says

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I made this for company and it was gobbled up. We didn't find it bland at all - - maybe it depends on the green enchilada sauce brand used? I used a rotisserie chicken, which made the prep time shorter. It was delicious and even the kids liked it. I'll be making it again! Thanks for sharing it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Loved how great they tasted and how easy they were. I used a rotisserie chicken and layered it all instead of rolling them individually. Tossed some taco seasoning in with the chicken and added some black beans. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Not a family favorite. The taste was a bit bland for our family. We were hoping to have more of a kick. We added green chilies and it still tastes so-so. If we do make again, we will add more chilies and better green enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACII24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mariposa, California, USA
Living In: New Athens, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
Loved this! It was fairly easy to make, though wee bit time consuming. Not that I mind--I like playing around in the kitchen. Took the advice of some other reviewers and mixed the sour cream with the chopped up chicken. Wouldn't make much sense to do it any other way. Also tore my tortillas into several pieces each and let them soak up the enchilada sauce in a pie pan, and only had a little left over to drizzle on top. I had a busy day ahead of me, so I assembled the casserole the night before, let it sit in the fridge overnight, then baked when we were ready for our Cinco de Mayo dinner celebration. Probably helped to allow the flavors to sit and the sauce to be thoroughly soaked up. Boyfriend said it could have used some more kick, but I liked it as is. If anything, I might recommend topping it with some spicy salsa. Very enjoyable. I'm already planning to make it again for a potluck this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 552) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States