Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Awesome recipe! I spiced the chicken with cumin, garlic, and chili powder. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Amazing recipe! Definite hit at our house. Made a few changes...Boiled the chicken and shredded in the food processor....added sour cream, cheese and fajita seasoning (from AR venison fajitas). MIxed it all together and continued with the layering process. Tear all tortillas into 4th's...it helps soak up the chile sauce. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I had to rate a 3 because I made some changes. I used 3 chicken breasts - boiled and shredded. 4 oz cream cheese & 4 oz sour cream with 1pkg dry Taco Seasoning. Mix chicken, cream cheese, sour cream, taco seasoning. Add 1 can Fiesta Corn, some chopped black olives, 1 can green chili. Mix all together and follow the layering process with enchilada sauce & tortillas. I only had sharp cheddar on hand and it tasted just fine. I did not toast the tortillas i ripped in half and then smaller pieces to fill spaces. I covered and baked for 30 mins and the last 15 I uncovered. It came out great with little mushiness. This qty makes a large 9x13 baking dish. Next time I will halve recipe to make 8x8 - one dinner for 4. Kids loved it, so did the adults! :) I will make this again. Good recipe for a gathering. Thanks for the idea. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
I must say that I initially found this recipe to make for a quick potluck meal, because I didn't have time to roll up each individual enchilada. With a few minor modifications, it has now become a regular "staple" meal in our home and for sharing with friends at parties and BBQs. Since I am gluten-free, I only use corn tortillas, and I will sometimes add fat-free refried or black beans along with chopped green chilis, and I will sometimes omit the sour cream. The recipe is fast, easy, and delicious, and if you bake and shred the chicken the night before, you can save yourself a ton of time. (Oh, I also occasionally make the enchilada sauce from scratch).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Oh my gosh this was amazing!!Loved it so much. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Made this for the first time for a potluck picnic and it was a HIT. I halved the recipe, 2.5 quart casserole dish, boiled the chicken instead of baking (first time!), and mixed the sour cream with chili powder (so good, do try), did not char the tortillas but tore them - turned out perfect. Try to leave a few tortillas at the top next to the casserole dish for some extra crispiness. Next time I will make my own salsa verde (tomatillos, white onion, cilantro, season from there) as the canned one I used was too spicy but this has nothing to do with this particular recipe. Thank you so much! Yummy, comforting, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by czhiggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I wouldn't make this again but it was a passable dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
I made this for my boyfriend and he loved it! I knew I wanted to make it spicy- so I added a jalapeno, cilantro, and lemon to the store bought sauce. It really kicked it up a notch. As suggested in other reviews, I mixed the sour cream in with the chicken. Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and I would totally recommend it. I used a 9 by 13 pan and I wouldn't recommend anything smaller or bigger - that size is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Easy and quick! I followed other suggestions and coated chicken with sour cream before layering. My green chile sauce that I bought didn't have much kick so I mixed in a small jar of green chiles. Perfect served with spanish rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Really good except I used flour tortillas. Do not do this - the texture is rather slimy. The flavors are spot on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslijo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States