Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Very good! I followed the base of this recipe and with my additions it was amazing! I pretty much baked the chicken in a light seasoning of garlic power and salt (didn't have garlic salt) and shredded it (definitely worth the extra time for the shredded chicken). I added one heaping spoonful of sour cream (my husband isn't a big fan but wanted to keep it moist). Also added half of a small can of green chiles for flavor. Mixed this with some of the cheese. Put a small layer of las palmas green enchilada sauce into pan, then the chicken mixture into the tortillas, closed them up, then topped with some cheese and some of the green sauce but definitely didn't need an entire can (maybe just over half the can). Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I stumbled across this recipe just now and saw that it's basically the same recipe I've been making for years, only my recipe includes a small can of chopped olives, a 1/4 tsp. of garlic powder, and a small chopped onion, and I like to throw in a can of diced green chilies. The recipe is basically the same, but the preparation is a bit different. I mix the sauce, cheese (saving 2 cups of cheese for top), sour cream and chicken in a very large bowl, and then I tear up the corn tortillas into pieces (without any charring), and fold them into the mixture. I spread it in a 9x13 casserole dish and sprinkle remaining cheese on top. I bake uncovered at 350 for 30 minutes or until bubbly and then let it sit for 5 minutes before serving. You can't get easier and it is delicious! This has been in our regular rotation since I came across it 5 years ago. My husband loves it, my picky kids love it, and everyone I've ever served it for has loved it. When I'm super crunched on time, I've used 2 cans of chicken (even though I really don't like canned chicken) instead of cooking 4 breasts, and onion flakes (hydrating the flakes before adding) and it's still very delicious and even quicker to prepare. I would be lost without this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I too treated this as a base recipe and found reading the reviews and the suggestions very helpful. I did a few things differently such as I slow cooker braised about three pounds bone in chicken thighs and drumsticks (quarters were on sale) and removed skin and extra fat and braised with 8 ounces of salsa verde, one can tomato & green chilis, one ancho chili, one guajillo chili, minced garlic, diced onion, cumin, ground coriander, and 1 can chicken broth on high for about 4 hours, cooled and shredded. The braising liquid was so tasty after, I cooled, defatted and froze for the next time, as there will be a next time! For the filling my additions were as many did, adding in enough sour cream to bind, 2 chipotles in adobo sauce minced, about half can diced tomatoes I had left over from my guacamole, chopped cilantro, garlic and onion powder, cumin, 4 ounce can of green chilis, and half a can of black beans and layered with wheat tortillas as we're not big fans of corn tortillas. I also used a Mexican four cheese blend mixed with Monterey. This was a hit with me and my boyfriend as I prefer creamy yet savor dishes and he likes very spicy savory. So for him he ate with a splash more of the salsa verde and chipotles. Also, in reading comments about it being too saucy, I used salsa verde and spread enough to cover the meat layer. I found this keeping it moist but not runny. I used a 9" round casserole dish which conformed nice to the 6" tortillas tearing as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
A delicious, easy weeknight meal. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I used chicken thighs and added a can of green chilis, an onion and a can of pinto beans to the chicken mixture. Overall this was pretty good- I also added the sour cream to the meat which made mixing it easier. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Next time I make this I will mix the sour cream in with the enchilada sauce and add chopped hatch green chile's and maybe a few jalepenos. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Love it but next time going to cut back on sour cream other then that it was awsome great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Very Good Recipe, but I agree with the other comments. You'll want to add onion, garlic, green bell pepper, salt, and a little red chili power for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
It was very tasty. I'm rating according to original directions. With a little tweeking this is a very delicious recipe! Closer to 5 stars. Flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I made it exactly to the recipe. All I heard was "Wow! This is sooooo good!" Needless to say there was nothing left over. Will make again and again, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States