Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I too treated this as a base recipe and found reading the reviews and the suggestions very helpful. I did a few things differently such as I slow cooker braised about three pounds bone in chicken thighs and drumsticks (quarters were on sale) and removed skin and extra fat and braised with 8 ounces of salsa verde, one can tomato & green chilis, one ancho chili, one guajillo chili, minced garlic, diced onion, cumin, ground coriander, and 1 can chicken broth on high for about 4 hours, cooled and shredded. The braising liquid was so tasty after, I cooled, defatted and froze for the next time, as there will be a next time! For the filling my additions were as many did, adding in enough sour cream to bind, 2 chipotles in adobo sauce minced, about half can diced tomatoes I had left over from my guacamole, chopped cilantro, garlic and onion powder, cumin, 4 ounce can of green chilis, and half a can of black beans and layered with wheat tortillas as we're not big fans of corn tortillas. I also used a Mexican four cheese blend mixed with Monterey. This was a hit with me and my boyfriend as I prefer creamy yet savor dishes and he likes very spicy savory. So for him he ate with a splash more of the salsa verde and chipotles. Also, in reading comments about it being too saucy, I used salsa verde and spread enough to cover the meat layer. I found this keeping it moist but not runny. I used a 9" round casserole dish which conformed nice to the 6" tortillas tearing as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
A delicious, easy weeknight meal. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I used chicken thighs and added a can of green chilis, an onion and a can of pinto beans to the chicken mixture. Overall this was pretty good- I also added the sour cream to the meat which made mixing it easier. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Next time I make this I will mix the sour cream in with the enchilada sauce and add chopped hatch green chile's and maybe a few jalepenos. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Love it but next time going to cut back on sour cream other then that it was awsome great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Very Good Recipe, but I agree with the other comments. You'll want to add onion, garlic, green bell pepper, salt, and a little red chili power for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
It was very tasty. I'm rating according to original directions. With a little tweeking this is a very delicious recipe! Closer to 5 stars. Flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I made it exactly to the recipe. All I heard was "Wow! This is sooooo good!" Needless to say there was nothing left over. Will make again and again, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Very good! If I haven't seasoned my chicken, the dish would've been bland. I used the 'a good easy garlic chicken' in AR. I did have an issue with it being soupy as others mentioned but we'll see how it is the next day. My husbands only wish is to find straight sided tortillas lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
My family loves this recipe. I cook my chicken my in the microwave to save time. I have even charred my tortillas on my small gas grill. That way I can do a couple at the time. I add some green onions to the chicken mixture and have used a variety of cheese. Perfect everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pitbull

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 549) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States