Quick and Easy Green Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Great recipe! Changes made: I use ground chicken instead of whole (faster to make and tastes just as good), white corn tortillas over the grill, and for a little extra flavor I add avocados in my layers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I made this as written but layered it up in a microwave safe dish, covered it with the lid and nuked it for 20 minutes on 75%. Perfect! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I followed the recipe plus one addition. In a pan with olive oil I saute'd garlic, onion, and red bell pepper and added that mixture to the chicken and sour cream. Baked for 30 minutes covered and then 5 minutes uncovered. Tasted like an entree at a local Mexican restaurant. Will make again. Served with chips and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MistyManda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
My family liked this rendition of chicken enchilada casserole. I would definitely recommend cooking the chicken ahead to save on time if you are in a hurry. That way you don't spend time waiting for it to cool so you can shred it before adding it to the rest of the ingredients. Had I had the chicken ahead of time I surely would have cooked it a day before. It was surely easy enough to make but I followed the video more so than the written recipe. I didn't char the tortillas before adding them I just tore them in to fourths and I used a Mexican blend of cheese instead of just a shredded Monterrey jack. I also topped with my favorite Daisy Sour Cream and ripe avocado slices. I had to cook it much longer than the recipe called for. My oven is pretty right on with AllRecipes.Com so I was a bit surprised. I ended up cooking the casserole 75 minutes as appose to 45 minutes. All in all this recipe is a keeper in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Herbies Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Good flavor!! I used left over meat from a roasted chicken (cut the recipe in 1/2 for just the two of us) so, it was 2 cups cooked chicken. Followed the recipe ingredients, but mixed the sour cream with the chicken and soaked some of the tortillas in the green chili sauce. I did not cook the tortillas. Served with garden fresh tomatoes, a sliced avocado and some refried beans. Great meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I thought the texture of this was excellent. I didnt have a gas stove or grill so I just put the tortillas on a cast iron skillet and charred them that way. I will make this again but next time I will season the chicken much more, and add some sauteed onions with garlic and peppers. It was ok, it just needed more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOMELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Very good! I followed the base of this recipe and with my additions it was amazing! I pretty much baked the chicken in a light seasoning of garlic power and salt (didn't have garlic salt) and shredded it (definitely worth the extra time for the shredded chicken). I added one heaping spoonful of sour cream (my husband isn't a big fan but wanted to keep it moist). Also added half of a small can of green chiles for flavor. Mixed this with some of the cheese. Put a small layer of las palmas green enchilada sauce into pan, then the chicken mixture into the tortillas, closed them up, then topped with some cheese and some of the green sauce but definitely didn't need an entire can (maybe just over half the can). Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Seymour

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I stumbled across this recipe just now and saw that it's basically the same recipe I've been making for years, only my recipe includes a small can of chopped olives, a 1/4 tsp. of garlic powder, and a small chopped onion, and I like to throw in a can of diced green chilies. The recipe is basically the same, but the preparation is a bit different. I mix the sauce, cheese (saving 2 cups of cheese for top), sour cream and chicken in a very large bowl, and then I tear up the corn tortillas into pieces (without any charring), and fold them into the mixture. I spread it in a 9x13 casserole dish and sprinkle remaining cheese on top. I bake uncovered at 350 for 30 minutes or until bubbly and then let it sit for 5 minutes before serving. You can't get easier and it is delicious! This has been in our regular rotation since I came across it 5 years ago. My husband loves it, my picky kids love it, and everyone I've ever served it for has loved it. When I'm super crunched on time, I've used 2 cans of chicken (even though I really don't like canned chicken) instead of cooking 4 breasts, and onion flakes (hydrating the flakes before adding) and it's still very delicious and even quicker to prepare. I would be lost without this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I too treated this as a base recipe and found reading the reviews and the suggestions very helpful. I did a few things differently such as I slow cooker braised about three pounds bone in chicken thighs and drumsticks (quarters were on sale) and removed skin and extra fat and braised with 8 ounces of salsa verde, one can tomato & green chilis, one ancho chili, one guajillo chili, minced garlic, diced onion, cumin, ground coriander, and 1 can chicken broth on high for about 4 hours, cooled and shredded. The braising liquid was so tasty after, I cooled, defatted and froze for the next time, as there will be a next time! For the filling my additions were as many did, adding in enough sour cream to bind, 2 chipotles in adobo sauce minced, about half can diced tomatoes I had left over from my guacamole, chopped cilantro, garlic and onion powder, cumin, 4 ounce can of green chilis, and half a can of black beans and layered with wheat tortillas as we're not big fans of corn tortillas. I also used a Mexican four cheese blend mixed with Monterey. This was a hit with me and my boyfriend as I prefer creamy yet savor dishes and he likes very spicy savory. So for him he ate with a splash more of the salsa verde and chipotles. Also, in reading comments about it being too saucy, I used salsa verde and spread enough to cover the meat layer. I found this keeping it moist but not runny. I used a 9" round casserole dish which conformed nice to the 6" tortillas tearing as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
A delicious, easy weeknight meal. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 557) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chile Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Try this quick and easy green chile chicken enchilada casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy chicken enchiladas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States