Quick and Easy Clam Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I live close to San Francisco...this is better. Really. Love it. I make it for friends and they think I'm this amazing cook. I add red potatoes, a little more clams, and a touch of red wine vinegar to make it a little more special. WONDERFUL - MAKE IT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Margate, Florida, USA
Living In: Placerville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This was a big hit in my house. Although all of us--bi-weekly chowder eaters--wished it was just a little more thick. We did the original recipe (full fat!) with some of the suggested additions:an extra clam chowder and 4 cubed baby reds. Knowing I was going to use the potatoes though, I bought two cans of cream of celery as opposed to 1 celery and 1 potato (celery was on sale). I dumpedit int he pot the night before and put it on as I left for work. I did add garlic pepper to taste and we will definately be making again with the addition of some veg (maybe some cubed carrot and chopped celery).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mynattygan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coeur D Alene, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I have made this clam chowder recipe for years now and each year it gets rave reviews. I've had great success adding in cubed potatoes and topping it with bacon crumbles and scallions. And since I can create this recipe in the slow cooker, it is perfect to take into the office for pitch-ins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Very simple and delicious.. followed recipe to a "t" will make again in the winter months to come
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBOEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pewaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This was delicious!! I will definitely make it again. My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
I have just prepared this chowder in my crockpot but I did add some chopped red pepper, minced garlic, some bacon of course, & some Old Bay. WOW!!!! taste excellent & it isn't even ready yet. GREAT RECIPE-Definitely will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
My husband and I loved this soup. I did make some changes after reading everyones reviews though and I feel they were well worth it. I used 4 cans minced clams, 2 cans clam chowder, 1 celery soup, and 1 potato soup can. I added minced garlic, old bay seasoning, sherry cooking wine, 1 small diced onion, salt, pepper, and a few chopped up petite red potatoes. I used the whole pint of heaving whipping cream but not all the half and half as I was afraid of it being runny. It turned out thick, creamy, and did NOT have that store bought taste others were mentioning. I think the must have ingredient was the sherry cooking wine, it made all the difference. Will definetly make this one again. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This is really great clam chowder. It's a little.. thick for my tastes, but I think next time I will just replace some of the cream with half and half. I did use 4 cans of the clams, and the clam flavor was great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I like another reviewer grew up on the Oregon coast & my husband grew up in Boston...so I have a very finicky crew when it comes to chowder! I got this recipe about 2 years ago and have been making it with rave reviews ever since. EVERYBODY requests I make it! I have also made a couple of changes. I use 4 cans of the canned clams drained, 1 quart of 1/2 & 1/2, 1 can of corn, chop the simply potatoes red potatoes into smaller chunks and add 1-2 tsp of old bay!!!I thin it with a little milk if it needs it as it's cooking!! EXCELLENT...truly the best clam chowder ever..I used to crave legal seafood clam chowder, but no more:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Very good, and so easy! It was a little on the bland side- but this may be because I used low-sodium products. I also had to add cornstarch to thicken it up. Other than that it was yummy...rich and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

A surprisingly quick-and-easy, creamy clam chowder with bacon and potatoes.

My Best Clam Chowder

See how to make a creamy, 5-star clam chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States