Quick and Easy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
I am 12 years old and I love to cook. I was looking for a chicken recipe to make for my family because I was tired of the same ole stuff ya know?? Well this recipe turned out GREAT!! Even my Dad liked it and he hardly likes anything. This was a real hit. I will definately make this again. Also it was really good served with white rice.:) Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
618 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This was wonderful. I will make this again. As recommended by other reviewers, I doubled the sauce, and I only added 1/2 tsp of pepper. I also cooked it for about 40 minutes, and I disolved a spoonful of corn starch in about 1/3 cup of cold water and added right at the end of cooking. This made a nice thick sauce. I made rice and broccoli as recommended. After dinner, I just put all the leftovers, (chicken, sauce, rice, and broccoli) in one bowl and brought it for lunch today. It was really good all mixed up too! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
425 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2001
Doubled the sauce quantity - my family loves plenty of sauce with anything for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
250 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was very good, but nothing exceptional. I took others' advise and tripled the sauce without tripling everything, and I'm glad that I did. 9 Tbs. ketchup, 6 Tbs. soy sauce, 5 1/2 Tbs. white sugar, 6 Tbs. lemon juice, 1 1/2 tsp black pepper. This was perfect. Not too sweet and not too hot. The reason I am not giving this 5 stars is because serving this dish with rice is a must and should have been included that way. The recipe should have at least doubled the sauce, as well. I also cubed my chicken because it looked so tasty in the photos that way. I think my changes are what made this dish a success. Overall, served over rice with brocolli and a nice loaf of French bread, this meal was a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Excellent! I tripled the sauce recipe, and it was perfect. I did, however, when tripling the sauce, cut the sugar by a third (6 tbl instead of 9) and added a handful of sliced mushrooms at the end. This is fast, easy, and delicious. I served with white rice and broccoli. Will make mashed potatoes next time. Thanks for the comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEY HEY MAMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
Well we liked that one! I didn't put the sugar in at all because we don't like sauces to be too sweet. Only wish there was more sauce...it all seems to reduce too much so next time I will make more sauce for it. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I named this Sweet & Zesty Chicken. I followed the suggestion of other reviewers and made more sauce than suggested because we love sauce on our rice. I did 1/2 c + 1 Tbs. ketchup, 1/4c + 2Tbs. soy sauce. 1/4c sugar, 1/4 + 2Tbs vinegar because I didn't have lemon juice. Other than that i followed it exactly and it came out GREAT!! i'll definitely be saving this one and tweaking it some more. I served it over Basmati rice!! SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
This was pretty good. I scaled the recipe down for two people, but ended up needing to make enough sauce for four people in order to have enough to simmer. Next time I make it, I'll probably substitute Worchestershire sauce for the soy sauce, which will essentially make it a BBQ chicken recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I'm not a big fan of chicken but I really liked this! I left out the oil and used cooking spray to grease my skillet and I chopped up the chicken in small pieces before browning it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I was looking for a cheap dish to make and found this. Doubled the sauce but kept the sugar amount the same. If made next time, will decrease sugar or omit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States