Quick and Easy Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
This recipe was really yummy!! I had to change a couple things but it wasn't too drastic...I didn't have any texmati rice so I just used plain white rice (didn't have the extra flavor the recipe called for but in my opinion didn't really need it...I will try that next time though) and instead of cheddar I used mozzarella (my favorite). It turned out wonderful! My fiance really enjoyed it but lathered it with garlic powder (it's what he does with everything though so I wasn't insulted). :) Thanks for the excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Edgewood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This was awesome. Will most definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
VERY TASTY MEAL. I USED BASMATI RICE WHICH IS I THINK BETTER THAN TEXMAI RICE, THE AMERICAN COUNTER PART. ADD A LITTLE GARLIC AND BROCCHLI AND YOU ARE IN BUSINESS. TOASTED BREAD CRUMBS ON TOP ARE ALSO A HIT WITH MY FAMILY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This recipe turned out really good! I was skeptical after making the rice because it didn't look like enough at all, but it turned out perfect! I followed the recipe listed, but I made some additions: I added half a box of frozen peas, half a box of frozen broccoli florets (I'm pregnant and wanted to bump up the veggies), I added 1 cup of cheese to the veggie/chicken mix itself, then topped it with 1 cup before baking. Came out awesome! I think next time I'll leave out the fresh mushrooms, but that's just a personal preference. I also baked it for 30 mins covered, then removed the foil and let it go another 10 minutes so the cheese was gooey. The gravy mix reminded me of a chicken pot pie and being that it set up really well (not watery) I think I may play around with that idea next time. All in all, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
i loved this recipe and so did my family. i did put my own twist on it. i used 1c milk & 1c chicken broth instead of bullillon cubes. chopped and sauteed celery, carrots, & onions. mixed sauce, chicken, & veggies together. and topped with cheese cubes & buttered bread crumbs. i didn't use mushrooms. reminded me of chicken pot pie. GREAT COMFORT FOOD!!! will use again & again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland Home, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This was easy to make and very good! I made a few changes to my personal taste and what I had on hand. I used jasmine rice, 1 1/2 c cheese(because cheese is good), 1 1/2 c brocolli and 1 c mushrooms. I added dry bread crumbs in the last 5 mins also. My boyfriend was suprised it turned out because the sauce was so full of vegetables and chicken, but it was delicious! I will definately make this again - its quick, easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenlines22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
We loved this recipe! I did tweak a little but it was just a little onion and celery with the butter & flour. I also added a little broccoli b/c my kids always need extra green veggies :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Comfort food! I have to admit I didn't add the mushrooms, because some family members don't like them, (but I used the whole grain brown Texmati rice, to increase the healthiness factor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I made mine with half whole milk and half skim, skipped the mushrooms and added brocolli, cauliflower and celery, cooked half an onion and two cloves of garlic in the butter and used whole wheat flour rather than white. This turned out great, next time I will only add maybe half to a whole crushed garlic clove as it was very garlicky. Don't be afraid to play around with this recipe and see what you can create. Thanx for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Very good! I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States