Quick and Easy Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
my family (and in laws) absolutely loves this! i make 2 casseroles with it. i use jasmine rice and broccoli in both. in the one i add cheddar and it's done. then in the second one i add the mushrooms and swiss cheese (instead of the cheddar). oh, and i triple the sauce and mix everything together before topping it with the cheese. delish! i've also topped them with some leftover mozzarella that i had on hand. consensus: adults liked the swiss better the kids liked the cheddar better:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevens, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Thurmond, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Very good, but a bit dry. Next time I will add cream of mushroom soup to the wet ingredients and add some moisture to the rice, perhaps putting another 8 ounces of mushrooms into the rice while preparing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Orovada, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
So good. The only change I made was the rice. I had a package of Lipton Chicken flavored rice in the pantry. I think it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
So I'll admit that the oozing cheese on top of the casserole scared me a bit- not so pretty, BUT... this was the best casserole I've ever made. Yummy... can't get enough. Only changes I made was in using Jasmine rice and steamed broccoli in place of mushrooms. You HAVE to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Cool. Used leftover chicken fried rice plus a can of maple leaf canned chicken - my fam never even notices the difference. Also used broccoli instead of mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised with the results of this recipe, especially considering how easy it was to put together. I used Basmati rice, added a tablespoon of minced garlic to the melting butter, used peas instead of mushrooms (didn't have any mushrooms on hand), and sprinkled some Italian seasoned bread crumbs on top during the last five minutes of cooking. It was definitely good and makes a huge amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I loved this chicken and rice recipe, especially because I didn't have to have cream of chicken soup to make it (I rarely buy it). Very delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
one word to describe this dish: delicious! This is hands down the best casserole I have ever made! Its definitley a keeper. The only modification i made was to increase the cheddar cheese to 1 1/2 cups which i thought made it that much better (who doesn't love a cheesy chicken and rice casserole?) thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This was very easy to make. My six year old extra picky eater gobbled it up and begged for leftovers to save for lunch. The only changes I made was to melt the cheese in the flour/milk mixture (about 2 cups), add a pinch of cayenne and topped the dish with fried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This recipe turned out really good! I was skeptical after making the rice because it didn't look like enough at all, but it turned out perfect! I followed the recipe listed, but I made some additions: I added half a box of frozen peas, half a box of frozen broccoli florets (I'm pregnant and wanted to bump up the veggies), I added 1 cup of cheese to the veggie/chicken mix itself, then topped it with 1 cup before baking. Came out awesome! I think next time I'll leave out the fresh mushrooms, but that's just a personal preference. I also baked it for 30 mins covered, then removed the foil and let it go another 10 minutes so the cheese was gooey. The gravy mix reminded me of a chicken pot pie and being that it set up really well (not watery) I think I may play around with that idea next time. All in all, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States