Quick and Easy Chicken and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I made the recipe exactly as written, except I used a Knorr stock pot instead of bullion cubes. HUGE hit in my house. My hubby went back for thirds! Thank for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Easy and delicious meal from scratch--used brown rice and added some carrots + peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I shredded half a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store, but otherwise made it as written. It was almost too good. I think I had three servings. I'm sure I will be making this again and again. Next time, I may experiment by adding chopped celery and brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emma
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
Wow! I've tried lots of chicken, broccoli, & cheese casseroles on this website (all of which used soups which I don't like to do because of the sodium and/or taste) and this one blew them out of the water! I used a broccoli/carrot cheese rice blend, and added more fresh broccoli and mushrooms...SO GOOD and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
This is a really easy good recipe. The baking at the end makes the brown rice soft and delicious (sometimes tricky to accomplish). I added spinach and asparagus to get some added nutrition. I also used a Tbsp of "Better then Bouillon" which if you haven't used is way better then any broth bouillon or otherwise. Also I didn't want to use a cup of cheddar cheese so I used a quarter of parmesan instead. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodyann08

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Best casserole EVER! Even my picky 12 year old daughter ate thirds. Try topping with French Fried Onions during the last 15 minutes for a little extra kick. Thank you for this great recipe. Will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
i loved this recipe and so did my family. i did put my own twist on it. i used 1c milk & 1c chicken broth instead of bullillon cubes. chopped and sauteed celery, carrots, & onions. mixed sauce, chicken, & veggies together. and topped with cheese cubes & buttered bread crumbs. i didn't use mushrooms. reminded me of chicken pot pie. GREAT COMFORT FOOD!!! will use again & again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland Home, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I followed the recipe as is. This is the perfect comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I think this is a great base recipe that can be customized in almost endless ways. I made it a little lighter by using fat-free milk, reduced-fat cheddar, light spread, and brown rice. I also used canned mushrooms that I diced and sauted beforehand along with onion and celery. I added a handful or two green peas and used two packs of pre-cooked diced Tyson chicken. Finally, I topped everything with breadcrumbs before baking. It came out really moist and flavorful, and I look forward to making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
We used leftover turkey to make this. It was a very quick meal but pretty bland. I did sub some cooked broccoli instead of the mushrooms because that is what I had on hand. Overall, average for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States