Quick and Easy Cherry Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
I don't know about these Cherry Bars. I cooked them for 45 min. and they were still mushy in the middle. The parts that weren't mushy tasted really good though. Next time I'll try cooking them a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
This is a quick and easy recipe. I think that next time I might try canned blueberries or even strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristow, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
This was not a bar at all. it was more like a cake. with cherry filling in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2004
This recipe has been a hit every time. Easy and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
These are delicious, but I agree that 40 minute cook time isn't enough in a 9 x 13 pan, and that they are a little too "cake-like" for my taste. After discovering that, I made it again, only in the cookie sheet I normally use for bars. Way better, not mushy after 40 minutes, and definately a BAR. The topping doesn't cover well at all however, next time I may increase the recipe just a little to have more for the top. I also sprinkled powdered sugar over the top after baking, it looked amazing, all white and red, perfect for the holidays! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Thank God somebody else knows the recipe for this. My mother used to make these all the time when I was little but lost the recipe. I now have a family of my own at the age of 24 and I like the convenience of this treat. I do remember, as a rule of thumb, my mother putting a toothpick in the middle to make sure her bars were done (as we do with everything else). I know it takes longer and I'll be doing the same thing. Easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
I cute this recipe in half and baked it in an 8x8 pan. And while it is much more like a cake than a bar it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
I needed a dessert in a hurry for a school function using items in the cupboard and this fit the bill. As suggested before, I used an 11x15 jellyroll pan so that it was more bar-like. It worked fine; however, one can of cherry pie filling was a stretch although two cans would be too much. The taste is a subtly sweet cherry bar/cake. The kids liked it. I would suggest sprinkling about 1 tbsp of sugar over the bars just prior to baking. Also, I wonder how almond extract would taste in place of the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This is a very good recipe. More like a cake than a bar. Takes a little longer to cook than 40 minutes. Top is not enough to cover cherries but I swirled it in with the cherries and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This is a quick & easy recipe. If you have pie filling on hand, you are good to go. As some in our family are not chocolate lovers, this cherry bars is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States