Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was good, and not too difficult for a weeknight. I'll definitely make it again. I used turkey bacon to cut calories, and it was still yummy. I was tempted to not make the garnish, but I'm really glad I did. I couldn't find the sambal paste, so I combined the lime juice + green onions + ~ 2 T "hot sauce. Both my fiance and I thought that the garnish added a really fresh, bright flavor to the soup. It was delicious with sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I am really surprised that no one has mentioned the use of an immersion blender for this recipe. If you don't have one of these handy "stick" blenders, I strongly suggest you invest in one. It's much easier to use and clean than a regular blender for this type of application. You can control how thick you want the soup to be by the amount of time you blend the soup, and you do it right in the same pot! What could be easier than that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I have to admit... I didn't have Sambal Paste, so I used Chili Garlic Sauce. Still, this was one of my Mom's favorite lunches! Hubby and I also enjoyed. I garnished with green onions and nobody asked for sour cream here. Thanks Chef John... a recipe we can all agree on gets a 5*~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This recipe is scrumptious. I crisped the bacon and removed it to use as a topping and sauteed the onions in the residual oil, I also used turkey bacon. I wasn't too fond of the bacon being cooked in it. I also added a can of rotel tomatoes and instead of the garnish I topped it with greek yogurt, cheese, red onion (out of green), and the bacon that I sauteed. It was very good even with my substitutions. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Super good! I also didn't add the bacon since I am vegan, but I added a half can of mild rotel (diced tomatoes/green chilis). I followed everything else just as is and it was so good! will make this regularly thanks so much for the great staple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lukapuka
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
It took me a while to find the red chili paste, but I'm glad I did. It really made a difference to the final product. Hubby and I will have this again... and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
exceptional as written!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Gotta rate this five stars. Ate two bowls of this soup so far. First bowl of soup was without the sour cream and garnish, since I wanted to know what the soup tasted like without any enhancements. First bowl was tasty. Ate second bowl a day later. Topped this with the sour cream and garnish. Second bowl was even tastier than the first. Soup flavor intensified over the course of one day. Sour cream and garnish also added flavor, though my pallet would have preferred a little less lime juice. When making this soup, the bacon that I used was pretty fatty. Because of this, after soup was finished simmering, I fished most of the bacon out of the soup, then cut away most of the fat, then readded the bacon (with fat gone) back into the soup. Can't wait to make this soup for guests! Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Prepared exactly as written. Very flavorful, simple and will be preparing again. The relish does add a mild spicy element that gives this soup that extra layer of flavor which I happened to like. My husband tried the soup without the relish, and then with the relish. He liked both helpings, but preferred not using the relish and getting the "true" black bean soup taste without that extra spicy flavor. So you decide, ...spice or no spice! Either way, it's all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This is the best black bean soup I have ever made. It was easy and delicious. thank you Chef John. I will be visiting your blog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States