Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This was absolutely fantastic as is... I cheated and used the store-bought chili paste/condiment but it was fabulous. Don't forget to also top with a spoonful of sour cream and fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Wow. I must be the only person who had problems with this recipe. It was runny, couldn't thicken it no matter how much I smashed. tried the blender, that helped some, but messed with the texture. What struck me the most is this was not "black" at all. more like beige. taste was bland. had to add a can of black bean mole to spruce it up some. I was kind of grossed out about the bacon fat. it was overwhelming. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I loved this recipe. I subbed the bacon with turkey bacon but didn't change anything else. Couldn't find sambal so I used fresh red chili peppers. AMAZING. The relish is a must with this soup. By itself it's great, but the relish makes the flavors pop. My family loved this. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This is very good and easy to make. I used all chicken broth and no water, it was way too salty so I added water and it was great. I also added some pepper sauce at the end. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I opened up the AR page today and saw this on the home page. This was perfect for tonight there wasn't a single complaint and the soup pot was left empty to the drop. I used a cup more chicken broth subbed for a cup of water. Also, I didn't have any red chili peppers, so I improvised with a minced sweet red bell pepper and a half teaspoon of Penzey's Medium Hot Chili Powder. I also used turkey bacon instead of the pork bacon, but I doubt it was as good as it could have been with the real deal. I served it with a some tortilla chips on the side, but had also considered corn bread as well. From what I can tell, Chef John had this one spot on and if I had had the exact ingredients, I would have stuck to it. I'm the type of person that uses recipes as suggestions, so this says a lot. Eat this soup. Enjoy this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was good, and not too difficult for a weeknight. I'll definitely make it again. I used turkey bacon to cut calories, and it was still yummy. I was tempted to not make the garnish, but I'm really glad I did. I couldn't find the sambal paste, so I combined the lime juice + green onions + ~ 2 T "hot sauce. Both my fiance and I thought that the garnish added a really fresh, bright flavor to the soup. It was delicious with sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I am really surprised that no one has mentioned the use of an immersion blender for this recipe. If you don't have one of these handy "stick" blenders, I strongly suggest you invest in one. It's much easier to use and clean than a regular blender for this type of application. You can control how thick you want the soup to be by the amount of time you blend the soup, and you do it right in the same pot! What could be easier than that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I have to admit... I didn't have Sambal Paste, so I used Chili Garlic Sauce. Still, this was one of my Mom's favorite lunches! Hubby and I also enjoyed. I garnished with green onions and nobody asked for sour cream here. Thanks Chef John... a recipe we can all agree on gets a 5*~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This recipe is scrumptious. I crisped the bacon and removed it to use as a topping and sauteed the onions in the residual oil, I also used turkey bacon. I wasn't too fond of the bacon being cooked in it. I also added a can of rotel tomatoes and instead of the garnish I topped it with greek yogurt, cheese, red onion (out of green), and the bacon that I sauteed. It was very good even with my substitutions. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Super good! I also didn't add the bacon since I am vegan, but I added a half can of mild rotel (diced tomatoes/green chilis). I followed everything else just as is and it was so good! will make this regularly thanks so much for the great staple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lukapuka

Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States