Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I'm such a sucker for Chef John's recipes! I prefer a healthier black bean soup but saw the addition of bacon, thought of my fiance and knew I had to try this...the bacon definitely takes this recipe over the top! Thanks Chef John for sharing (and for your videos which I always enjoy :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
very good, we liked the taste as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
all I can say is OMG. But... I added a can of diced tomatoes and a can of chick peas. I also hit it with some red pepper flakes. This recipe is very versatile. I can see adding cooked italian sausage to this instead of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This was absolutely fantastic as is... I cheated and used the store-bought chili paste/condiment but it was fabulous. Don't forget to also top with a spoonful of sour cream and fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Wow. I must be the only person who had problems with this recipe. It was runny, couldn't thicken it no matter how much I smashed. tried the blender, that helped some, but messed with the texture. What struck me the most is this was not "black" at all. more like beige. taste was bland. had to add a can of black bean mole to spruce it up some. I was kind of grossed out about the bacon fat. it was overwhelming. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I loved this recipe. I subbed the bacon with turkey bacon but didn't change anything else. Couldn't find sambal so I used fresh red chili peppers. AMAZING. The relish is a must with this soup. By itself it's great, but the relish makes the flavors pop. My family loved this. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This is very good and easy to make. I used all chicken broth and no water, it was way too salty so I added water and it was great. I also added some pepper sauce at the end. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I opened up the AR page today and saw this on the home page. This was perfect for tonight there wasn't a single complaint and the soup pot was left empty to the drop. I used a cup more chicken broth subbed for a cup of water. Also, I didn't have any red chili peppers, so I improvised with a minced sweet red bell pepper and a half teaspoon of Penzey's Medium Hot Chili Powder. I also used turkey bacon instead of the pork bacon, but I doubt it was as good as it could have been with the real deal. I served it with a some tortilla chips on the side, but had also considered corn bread as well. From what I can tell, Chef John had this one spot on and if I had had the exact ingredients, I would have stuck to it. I'm the type of person that uses recipes as suggestions, so this says a lot. Eat this soup. Enjoy this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This was good, and not too difficult for a weeknight. I'll definitely make it again. I used turkey bacon to cut calories, and it was still yummy. I was tempted to not make the garnish, but I'm really glad I did. I couldn't find the sambal paste, so I combined the lime juice + green onions + ~ 2 T "hot sauce. Both my fiance and I thought that the garnish added a really fresh, bright flavor to the soup. It was delicious with sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I am really surprised that no one has mentioned the use of an immersion blender for this recipe. If you don't have one of these handy "stick" blenders, I strongly suggest you invest in one. It's much easier to use and clean than a regular blender for this type of application. You can control how thick you want the soup to be by the amount of time you blend the soup, and you do it right in the same pot! What could be easier than that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States