Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I was determined to make soup on this rainy, dismal day despite not having a lot of ingredients on hand. This soup really hit the spot! I made only two substitutions (ham for bacon, and caraway seeds for cumin) and one omission (no cayenne on hand). Perhaps I overmashed the beans, but it got very thick, and I had to use the whole quart of chicken stock in addition to the 14.5 ounces of water. No problem. Bottom line is ... easy, quick and very delicious! P.S. I didn't use the relish or garnish. I don't think it needs either one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zolar55
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Chef John is my favorite chef.....the soup is great......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zolar55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
This was delicious!! And easy! My 5-year-old son made the soup - with a little help. We didn't have bacon so started with a few mini-pepperonis (which I don't think added much to the flavor). And we just used what we had on hand for the topping - sour cream and feta cheese - served with tortilla chips. My whole family loved this - even my 14-month old son. My 5-year-old (who made it) said it was the best meal he's ever eaten - even better than french fries :) Next time we will have to double or triple the recipe - my husband asked if we could go make another batch even before he finished his first bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
only had one 15oz can of chicken broth, I drained most of the oil from the bacon, added red/green pepper, and thyme. didn't have any cayenne pepper. overall it came out great and my 4yr old loved it...thanks for the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I used 2 slices of bacon and added extra garlic and onion. In addition since I didn't want to waste my boxed chicken stock I added the whole box instead of water and let it simmer longer. Since I had no hoty sauce I subed in red chili pepper flakes and 1 dollop of low fat sour cream..dELICIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
About to make this exactly as written for the third time...(triple the recipe this time for freezer). In addition to the wonderful garnishes, I put fresh slices of avocado on top in a pinwheel shape...simply fabulous! EDITED to add: I have tried a potato masher, then an immersion blender. The masher works a lot better as it doesn't pulverize the bacon. I make this a lot!! Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
SOOO SOOO good!! I pure'ed one can of beans to give it a really nice consistency. I skip the topping, honestly I prefer it without it. This has a permenant spot in my soups section of my recipe folder. I have made it 3 times since I found it in December 2012, and will make it numerous more times I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninkitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
overwhelming amount of bacon fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I'm such a sucker for Chef John's recipes! I prefer a healthier black bean soup but saw the addition of bacon, thought of my fiance and knew I had to try this...the bacon definitely takes this recipe over the top! Thanks Chef John for sharing (and for your videos which I always enjoy :)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
very good, we liked the taste as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States