Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This was quite good. I left out the bacon to cut calories and replaced the can of water with more chicken broth to up the flavor. Came out delicious. Do make the garnish and use either sour cream or yogurt to top it off. Black beans are so healthy so any way to incorporate them into your diet is a winner - if it's tasty too than all the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
subbed basil for oregano and simmered an hour to thicken and blend flavors. Cheated and used blender. Awesome flavor! Loved this - will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Best Black Bean soup I've ever had! BONUS: I made it! :) I used low sodium beans, but followed the recipe exactly and the result was perfection! I didn't even make the relish, but I did use sour cream. It was a big hit with the hubby too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CavaLavaLove

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I am really surprised that no one has mentioned the use of an immersion blender for this recipe. If you don't have one of these handy "stick" blenders, I strongly suggest you invest in one. It's much easier to use and clean than a regular blender for this type of application. You can control how thick you want the soup to be by the amount of time you blend the soup, and you do it right in the same pot! What could be easier than that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Really good! I have a always relied on a wonderful recipe from a Seattle restaurant (Cafe Sport -- now gone), but it took a better part of a day to make. This is just as flavorful and easy to make for a weeknight dinner. I made the recipe as written and added a large diced carrot for color. I used an emersion blender and cooked it down to a thicker consistency, so it made about 2 large bowls worth. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This is so good, I'm not even done with it and I have to come give it a good review! Don't change anything about it, it is perfect. I didn't have red chili or sambal but I did have red curry paste which had red chili peppers in it. I used it for the relish and I can't imagine the dish without these flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Just tried this recipe. Is it just me, or would this be EPIC with some grated cheddar on top? Just an idea. Also, I think the soup will taste good no matter what, but would probably look "prettier" if it was blended/pureed a bit if you're willing to take the extra time. All in all, a scrumptious hearty soup! Also, I think because of the bacon it doesn't need a lot of extra salt-- just be wary with that shaking hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Hello John, I am so glad to see this recipe I had it everyday in San Jan Puerto Rico many years ago so I will top it with the sour cream, more chopped onion and a great salad on the side like they did, Thank you, Charlie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
About to make this exactly as written for the third time...(triple the recipe this time for freezer). In addition to the wonderful garnishes, I put fresh slices of avocado on top in a pinwheel shape...simply fabulous! EDITED to add: I have tried a potato masher, then an immersion blender. The masher works a lot better as it doesn't pulverize the bacon. I make this a lot!! Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I have to admit... I didn't have Sambal Paste, so I used Chili Garlic Sauce. Still, this was one of my Mom's favorite lunches! Hubby and I also enjoyed. I garnished with green onions and nobody asked for sour cream here. Thanks Chef John... a recipe we can all agree on gets a 5*~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States