Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Wow wow wow!!! This was awesome! I doubled the recipe but didn't double the bacon (I just didn't have it). I substituted chix broth for the water (so used 4 cans broth for a double recipe, and no water). I used low sodium beans. The bacon was unappealingly floating around so I used the immersion blender instead of a masher, and I made it quite smooth. I didn't make the relish but I did serve it with green onions and a big dollop of plain Greek yogurt. I can't believe how delicious this soup was! I'd give it 10 stars if I could!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Made this today using my pre-made and frozen black beans I cooked from scratch. This was delish! I live alone so I liked this recipe because it was easy to halve. I was using up some chicken stock so I only needed about 2 TBLS of the water and I did not have a fresh lime so I substituted 1-1/2 T of lime juice concentrate, and I did not have green onions so I eliminated them from the garnish. This is a keeper since most ingredients are on hand in my home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
great. double next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was very good & easy I made a few changes but it was very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Soooo easy and soooo tasty. Rave reviews from guests at a soup night with friends. I've made this several times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Made just as described and was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Hubby liked this more than me. It was good and I especially liked the onion relish for the top but it took me 2 hours simmering to get where I wanted it texture-wise. I think if I make this again I will leave out the can of water.... because the flavor is definitely there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BenAnna
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Yum. Eating it now. Creamy and just a bit spicy. I used about a pound of dried beans instead of cans. I also extra little extra chicken broth but otherwise followed the recipe. I did use the relish and sour cream. This is yummy stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
So tasty, loved the flavor combination. I added some carrots to mine and tossed them in with the onions. I followed Georgi's advice and used the immersion blender just to chop up the long pieces of bacon and make the soup a little thicker. Although next time might try pre-chopping the bacon and leaving the soup chunky.... either way this soup is wonderful, cheap and easy. Even my husband who isn't a bean fan loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States