Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Excellent and yes, the suggestion for an immersion blender is perfect, I make lots of soups and it is indispensible. Thoroughly delicious, may I suggest using a Beano table before eating for those with sensitive tummys....... Also, I used for spice a 'Mexican Blend' YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura A. Atiyeh
Living In: Concord, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This is my go to base recipe for black bean soup. I can't eat bacon so often I'll replace it with browned ground beef for an excellent black bean chili. I always add a can or two of diced tomatoes. If I've got a fire roasted on hand it adds a real nice twist. Always get rave reviews, even without the bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reina
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
I have been craving a good black bean soup for months. This recipe is a keeper! It really hit the spot! I loved the relish it was a perfect blend of citrus and spicy. The sour cream softened the heat and the flavors in the soup just meld together perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I followed the core recipe, except I made a couple adjustments. I cut down to two pieces of bacon, used a little olive oil, added a green pepper with the onion, 3 cups of chicken broth instead of 2, 1 can of water, 2 garlic cloves instead of 3, immersion blender (as mentioned in another review), and as little corn starch at the end to thicken it up a bit. AMAZING. A little bit of rice in the bowl then added the soup....delicious! Next time, I will take out 1/2 or 1/3 the beans before I use the immersion blender, then replace the beans into the soup puree. That way there's a little more bean texture. Great recipe nonetheless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Prentice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Just before finished. I blended a 1/4 of the soup to help thicken and added one tbls Balsemic. Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MikeSondra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
The flavor in this soup surprised me for the ease. I made 1/2 recipe to try it and it did yield the suggested servings. I dislike cooking bacon, so I just used 1-2 tsp of real bacon bits sauteed in some olive oil. I left out the cayenne, because I dont care for it in most recipes along with just a sprinkle of black pepper. I mixed my broth from reduced sodium vegetable paste. To save time I boiled it 5 minutes, then let it sit 2-3 minutes. I realized I forgot the water. I ended up only adding 1/2 of it at the end. I didnt want the soup to thin by that point. We topped with sour cream, chili paste, and a little 4 blend cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I have to agree with the other reviews. This was easy and excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattie Lawler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This was really easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
This is delicious! I wiped away the bacon grease after cooking the bacon and before adding other ingredients (personal preference). I did not make the relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States