Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by BenAnna
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Yum. Eating it now. Creamy and just a bit spicy. I used about a pound of dried beans instead of cans. I also extra little extra chicken broth but otherwise followed the recipe. I did use the relish and sour cream. This is yummy stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
So tasty, loved the flavor combination. I added some carrots to mine and tossed them in with the onions. I followed Georgi's advice and used the immersion blender just to chop up the long pieces of bacon and make the soup a little thicker. Although next time might try pre-chopping the bacon and leaving the soup chunky.... either way this soup is wonderful, cheap and easy. Even my husband who isn't a bean fan loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Awesome...no more said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lockport's Hot Dog Cart King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
This soup is delish! It's creamy, hearty and flavor packed! Like the other reviewers, I may add less bacon next time so it's healthier OR use cubes of ham instead. I also added a can of diced tomatoes to offset the creaminess of the beans with the acid and tartness of the tomatoes. SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irishred086

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Excellent and very easy! Some things to consider: make the bacon crispier than I did as it is not pleasant to eat the chewy fat. Also, do not be worried about the order of the spices as they blend well no matter if you get confused like I did. I used onion powder instead of an onion. This soup is so good and I am pleased that I will have a protein packed lunch from it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Made this for the first time for me and my hubby. All I can say is it was not enough! Served with a salad it is a light healthy meal and quite filling. I was so impressed, I made it again for my friend. She loved it! Now, I'm having a dinner party Saturday, and guess what, menu is chicken and steak fajitas with black bean soup! Good enough for company. Made exactly as written. Served with sour cream, green onions and fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
YUMMO! Just made this soup on a very cold Saturday afternoon. My husband loved it and can't wait for me to make it again. Thanks chef John!! Love your recipes:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Thank you for this recipe, it became one of my favourite dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Really good! I have a always relied on a wonderful recipe from a Seattle restaurant (Cafe Sport -- now gone), but it took a better part of a day to make. This is just as flavorful and easy to make for a weeknight dinner. I made the recipe as written and added a large diced carrot for color. I used an emersion blender and cooked it down to a thicker consistency, so it made about 2 large bowls worth. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I was determined to make soup on this rainy, dismal day despite not having a lot of ingredients on hand. This soup really hit the spot! I made only two substitutions (ham for bacon, and caraway seeds for cumin) and one omission (no cayenne on hand). Perhaps I overmashed the beans, but it got very thick, and I had to use the whole quart of chicken stock in addition to the 14.5 ounces of water. No problem. Bottom line is ... easy, quick and very delicious! P.S. I didn't use the relish or garnish. I don't think it needs either one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Black Bean Soup

See simple tricks for making super-easy black bean soup.

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States