Quick and Easy 20-Minute Chicken Posole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I made this my family raved about it. I agree though the color is quite odd so i added some tapatio to it to spice it up alitte more and change the color of the soup. It was very good though!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
I found this soup to be a little bland even after adding cilantro and hot pepper. I think it would be much better with the traditional pork. I will try it again with pork next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
Made this today for lunch and I have to admit it is a good starting base. It was missing a few things in my opinion. This is obviously far from authentic mexican posole. I had to tweak it alot since my family kept making faces while i was making it. They keeped tasting and saying "nope still missing something." finally I guess I got it good enough to satisfy them. They said it had more of a green chicken enchilada taste than a mexican posole. I agreed. I guess I would make this again but with my modifications. Good base soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
Yummy! My husband's favorite soup - The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I add way more seasoning than the recipe calls for to get the taste right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
I made this as a last minute addition for an extended family soup supper, and it was gobbled up before any other soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I couldn't help but add a can of diced tomatoes, some sliced bell pepper, and some chile powder before tasting it as is. It seemed too simple for me. It was very tasty and VERY quick and easy. Will probably make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I thought this looked bland, with the canned peppers. So I put in a fresh Anaheim pepper. I didn’t change the seasoning given in the recipe. However, I substituted cubed pork for the chicken to be more authentic. Brown the cubed pork well in some olive oil. Remove and reserve. Add the onions and one large Anaheim pepper (wash, seed and dice large) and sauté until soft. I added 1 tbs cornstarch and cooked this paste with the onions and pepper 1-2 minutes (do not let it burn). Add the pork cubes back to the pot with the onions & pepper. I increased the liquid by adding more broth than the recipe called for (add water if no extra broth around) and 2 cans of white hominy (drained). Cook on med-low simmer until the pork is done. This variation was delicious, but it looked unattractive. To improve presentation, serve it in colorful bowls with a dollop of sour cream and some hot sauce for personal seasoning. Experiment with brands of canned hominy. Some are better than others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Saint Helens, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
With a few additons this is really good!!! Never had posole before looked up an accurate recipe and its made with pork or pig ears. I threw everything in crockpot didnt saute nothin. Didnt use oil. Used 6 pieces of chicken,legs and thighs. I pulled the skin off first and boiled it in water for my chicken broth. Added one half squeezed lime, added minced garlic, used cilantro instead of oregano. Added salt and extra cumin. Put crock pot on high came back 5 hours later pulled meat off of bones threw back in. Sitting here eating a bowl that was left over from last nite. Its pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
very easy and very good. My husband and kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
This may not be authentic, but it sure is good! Even my 2 year old ate this up. Only changes I made were to use a cooked chicken and added a can of diced tomatoes with diced green chili's. Topped with shredded monteray jack. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Treeskitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States