Quick and Creamy Pasta Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Made this the other night...can't stop thinking about it. Ten stars. Followed exactly. This stuff is no joke. Will probably have to make it again in a couple days:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This was a last minute dinner attempt after my original dinner tanked. VERY simple which I appreciated. I did not have ham or peas, what I did was throw in a good amount steamed broccoli. I also added a good amount fresh ground pepper. I sprinkled fresh parmesan over each portion before serving. The boys and I inhaled this. VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Delicious but it does take a long time. I also added pepper to taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Very yummy! Slightly time consuming but well worth the extra effort! I added shredded grilled chicken to mine as well which was a nice added touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I have never tasted anything of the carbonara flavor. The way I tweaked it I know I am much more off. However, the flavor is actually quite good for 5-10 minutes of effort. I made 1/2 recipe and used 3 Tablespoons of real bacon bits cooked in 2-3 teaspoons of grapeseed oil. Removed the bacon and then added the rest of the ingredients, using whipped butter (lower calorie), reduced fat milk, and 4 triangles of laughing cow lite garlic and herb. It reminds me of cream cheese and I didn't have any. I just threw the peas in frozen. I didn't have ham, but it was fine without it. Not a dish I would repeat often as the calories, even with the tweaks, are still very high. Although, it worked well this evening. Without the pasta, and with my tweaks, 3 servings of the sauce as made above was 245 calories. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
i didnt have ham or peas so i used corn and chicken still came out great! i'd probably say next time id take out at least half the grease from the bacon. i also added salt and pepper.. for my self more parmesan too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Delish-- As I rule I don't rate or comment on a recipe if I make changes to it but in this case will make the exception.This to me was a marriage of an Alfredo and a carbonara with the bacon. I was looking for something different to make for dinner. I had leftover tortellini salad I wanted to use up and together they worked well. My tortellini salad had a little fresh basil and parsley, a few pine nuts, red and yellow peppers, pepper flake and artichoke hearts. The vinagrette was very mild but it added a touch of brightness to the dish to cut through some of the fat.I did drain some of the bacon fat as there was enough fat in the cream cheese and the extra olive oil from the dressing. I followed the recipe exactly until the point I added the pasta where I substituted the tortellini salad. I warmed the cold pasta salad in the sauce and added cooked bacon and cheese as directed. I did not have any ham and eliminated the peas as well. The artichoke hearts and peppers were there for sweetness and color instead. The changes made were out of desire to use existing product but the actual sauce was as written. I have made again as written and I do cut out some of the bacon fat and add just a touch of red pepper flakes depending on who is home for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I found this recipe with not much in the house to cook and craving pasta. I did not find it time-consuming to cook as others have commented. I had to substitute the Parmesan cheese for shredded "pizza" 5 cheese blend and bacon for ham. It came out super tasty. I'd say a mix b/c spaghetti carbonara and alfredo sauce. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Great recipe, one of the best carbonaras I've made, BUT the one ingredient that makes it a carbonara is missing from the recipe!!! The pepper is VERY important; don't forget to add a generous amount. Also, I left out the ham because I thought it was too much pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Absolutely wonderful!! I used bow tie noodles, still a great dinner. It is very harty and heavy, very "filling" meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States