Quick and Creamy Pasta Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Great recipe, one of the best carbonaras I've made, BUT the one ingredient that makes it a carbonara is missing from the recipe!!! The pepper is VERY important; don't forget to add a generous amount. Also, I left out the ham because I thought it was too much pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Absolutely wonderful!! I used bow tie noodles, still a great dinner. It is very harty and heavy, very "filling" meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nonni
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Easy peasy and delicious ! Used marscapone instead of cream cheese cos I had none , also used only bacon as I had no ham ,seasoned a bit more for my taste . A hit and will use often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I have never tasted anything of the carbonara flavor. The way I tweaked it I know I am much more off. However, the flavor is actually quite good for 5-10 minutes of effort. I made 1/2 recipe and used 3 Tablespoons of real bacon bits cooked in 2-3 teaspoons of grapeseed oil. Removed the bacon and then added the rest of the ingredients, using whipped butter (lower calorie), reduced fat milk, and 4 triangles of laughing cow lite garlic and herb. It reminds me of cream cheese and I didn't have any. I just threw the peas in frozen. I didn't have ham, but it was fine without it. Not a dish I would repeat often as the calories, even with the tweaks, are still very high. Although, it worked well this evening. Without the pasta, and with my tweaks, 3 servings of the sauce as made above was 245 calories. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
cream cheese took forever to melt and the sauce curdled, had to add salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Easy! Last minute fix, short on ingredients so I made some substitutions: spaghetti for rigatoni, Chicken for ham, fresh asparagus for peas. I threw the a few pieces of 1 to 1-1 1/2" asparagus in the pasta water the last 5 minutes of cooking time. I added 1 cup rotisserie chicken and cut the cream cheese in half. My husband loved it. A fresh take on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
it was great and super easy....i didn't have bacon so i used pancetta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This is a quick and easy recipe that uses ingredients that I usually have on hand. My husband hates peas, but he likes this! I use half the butter and cream cheese that this calls for and 3 pieces of turkey bacon. This makes it a little lighter and it is still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Very easy & delicious. I found this recipe to use my leftover ham. I made some substitutions and used what I had in my pantry. I used bacon bits instead of bacon, and added a little bit with the garlic while it was sauteing. I added more bacon bits to taste towards the end. I also used one stick of butter and one stick of margarine (I doubled the recipe). I substituted reduced fat cream cheese and frozen peas. Overall, I was happy how quick and easy this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WerewolfCas
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Delicious. Omitted the peas and added mushrooms and onion. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States