Quick and Creamy Pasta Carbonara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Great recipe, one of the best carbonaras I've made, BUT the one ingredient that makes it a carbonara is missing from the recipe!!! The pepper is VERY important; don't forget to add a generous amount. Also, I left out the ham because I thought it was too much pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Absolutely wonderful!! I used bow tie noodles, still a great dinner. It is very harty and heavy, very "filling" meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nonni
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
Easy peasy and delicious ! Used marscapone instead of cream cheese cos I had none , also used only bacon as I had no ham ,seasoned a bit more for my taste . A hit and will use often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I have never tasted anything of the carbonara flavor. The way I tweaked it I know I am much more off. However, the flavor is actually quite good for 5-10 minutes of effort. I made 1/2 recipe and used 3 Tablespoons of real bacon bits cooked in 2-3 teaspoons of grapeseed oil. Removed the bacon and then added the rest of the ingredients, using whipped butter (lower calorie), reduced fat milk, and 4 triangles of laughing cow lite garlic and herb. It reminds me of cream cheese and I didn't have any. I just threw the peas in frozen. I didn't have ham, but it was fine without it. Not a dish I would repeat often as the calories, even with the tweaks, are still very high. Although, it worked well this evening. Without the pasta, and with my tweaks, 3 servings of the sauce as made above was 245 calories. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
cream cheese took forever to melt and the sauce curdled, had to add salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie Baker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Easy! Last minute fix, short on ingredients so I made some substitutions: spaghetti for rigatoni, Chicken for ham, fresh asparagus for peas. I threw the a few pieces of 1 to 1-1 1/2" asparagus in the pasta water the last 5 minutes of cooking time. I added 1 cup rotisserie chicken and cut the cream cheese in half. My husband loved it. A fresh take on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
it was great and super easy....i didn't have bacon so i used pancetta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This is a quick and easy recipe that uses ingredients that I usually have on hand. My husband hates peas, but he likes this! I use half the butter and cream cheese that this calls for and 3 pieces of turkey bacon. This makes it a little lighter and it is still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Very easy & delicious. I found this recipe to use my leftover ham. I made some substitutions and used what I had in my pantry. I used bacon bits instead of bacon, and added a little bit with the garlic while it was sauteing. I added more bacon bits to taste towards the end. I also used one stick of butter and one stick of margarine (I doubled the recipe). I substituted reduced fat cream cheese and frozen peas. Overall, I was happy how quick and easy this was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WerewolfCas
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Delicious. Omitted the peas and added mushrooms and onion. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Tomato & Tuna Penne Pasta

See a pasta dish that's based loosely on a classic diner lunch combo.

Creamy Salmon and Leek Pasta

See how to make a simple springtime pasta with salmon.

Chef John's BLT Pasta

Blow off the bread and turn a classic sandwich into the perfect pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States