Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I was a little disappointed with this icing when I first made it. It was good and easy, but there was just a little lacking in terms of flavor. I made it again and this time used salted butter instead of unsalted (as a previous reviewer suggested), doubled the vanilla (previous reviewer again), and used evaporated milk (next time I might try cream, but I didn't have that on hand) instead of regular milk. I used extra sugar to compensate for the extra vanilla and the thin texture it had the first time (don't want to reduce the milk because I needed every drop of frosting) and it was perfect. I doubled the recipe and it was just enough to frost a 3-layer cake. I'm giving the original recipe 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Followed the recipe as written. Was a bit worried as have never attempted to make any kind of icing before...turned out perfect!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Loved it! The first time I ever made it. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Thought the frosting flavor was good but hubby and I thought it was too sweet. I ended up frosting 24 cupcakes lightly with this recipe. Also the consistency wasn't very stiff for me to spread on the cupcakes. Will probably use a different frosting recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Calera, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Perfect! I made a batch of this to use for cake pops but found myself sampling it a few extra times... yum! I used vanilla bean and I loved how pretty and speckled this was! I don't know how far this would go for icing a cake, but it worked perfectly for 24cupcakes worth of cake pops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Excellent buttercream! Sweet but not overpowering, rich and creamy. Great base for any flavor you'd like. Defintitely double if you're frosting a double layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I LOVE sweets, but this was like eating sugar coated sugar. WAY too sweet! I will continue looking elsewhere for the perfect frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Terrific! Will never use canned again. This is easy and delicious. I did use salted butter because it is all I had in the house. It still tasted great. I creamed the butter and then added the powdered sugar and vanilla. I used a bit extra vanilla. Then after everything was mixed I added milk to get it to the consistency I wanted. Ended up using very little milk. I doubled the recipe and only used 1 tablespoon. Partly because of the extra vanilla I am sure and I wanted it a little stiffer. The recipe doubled allowed me to frost my 9 x 13 cake and have extra to pipe with. This frosting was excellent for piping! Definitely recommend. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
This was very easy to make! Definitely double the recipe as it didn't make a lot. Used it for Karin's 40th birthday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
was too runny when i added 2 tablespoons of milk.i had to fix it by adding more sugar.next time i will just add less milk.tastes very good though =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 543) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States