Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This frosting does not hold its shape. Also, I'll never use unsalted butter again in a frosting recipe again. You taste the powder sugar, not the vanilla..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This is a GREAT buttercream frosting recipe(even using margarine since that is all I had). Just be sure to let the butter soften before you mix it up and it will be a perfect consistency. This uses less confectioner's sugar than others, so I think it tastes just right (not too sugary). The next time I made this recipe, I mixed in a cup of marshmallow creme (fluff) for chocolate cupcakes, and it was amazing. This does make the frosting a little more runny, but tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cquin1
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Made this yesterday and I think it was gone before we even got to frost the cupcakes with it! Everyone wanted recipe and LOVED it....it's sooo simple and yummy! :) Making it again today! :) Be sure to let your cake/cupcakes COOL COMPLETELY before frosting or it will melt and not look fluffy! :) The frosting melts in your mouth. I also doubled ingredients to be able to frost 24 cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cquin1
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Just finished making this recipe and it was great! I used salted real butter because that's all I had and it still tasted fabulous! Used my Kitchen Aid stand mixer and got a very smooth, creamy texture. Thank you for sharing! Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I added 1/2 a cup of cream cheese just to give it some zip since I was using it for a banana cake. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Multiplied times 4 for my 3 layer round cake. I think times 3 would have been enough. This icing held up really well. With the unsalted butter, I found it to be too sweet so I added a dash of salt and used half and half instead of milk. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Made it pink for Erin's baby showerby adding strawberry jello. Andrew loved it. I think he wanted to take all of the leftovers home with him. I made way too much, though. Loved all the buttery flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
The taste was terrific. I used salted butter. After creaming the butter and vanilla, I added half the powdered sugar and half the milk, mixed for a minute then the other half powdered sugar and milk and mixed for another minute. If anything, I could have added maybe another half TBSP milk but this worked well piped on cupcakes. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I used this for my kids' birthday cake and it turned out great. I doubled the recipe as it was a pretty big cake. It is quite sweet so I don't recommend frosting the cake with a heavy hand. I just used enough to cover the cake with an additional 1/4". Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Great for decorating. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 550) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

How to Make Butter Cream Frosting

You’ll be amazed how easy it is to make homemade frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States