Quick and Almost-Professional Buttercream Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I added 1/2 a cup of cream cheese just to give it some zip since I was using it for a banana cake. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Multiplied times 4 for my 3 layer round cake. I think times 3 would have been enough. This icing held up really well. With the unsalted butter, I found it to be too sweet so I added a dash of salt and used half and half instead of milk. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Made it pink for Erin's baby showerby adding strawberry jello. Andrew loved it. I think he wanted to take all of the leftovers home with him. I made way too much, though. Loved all the buttery flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
The taste was terrific. I used salted butter. After creaming the butter and vanilla, I added half the powdered sugar and half the milk, mixed for a minute then the other half powdered sugar and milk and mixed for another minute. If anything, I could have added maybe another half TBSP milk but this worked well piped on cupcakes. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I used this for my kids' birthday cake and it turned out great. I doubled the recipe as it was a pretty big cake. It is quite sweet so I don't recommend frosting the cake with a heavy hand. I just used enough to cover the cake with an additional 1/4". Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chehalis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Great for decorating. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Just like my Grammy used to make! I did double the recipe, which worked out fine. As is, it is great for straight frosting. For piping, I do recommend tossing it in the fridge for 30 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIHEA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sumner, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This icing was fantastic tasting and it had no after taste like using shortening can leave. It might not be the best as far as having that 100% perfect wedding icing look but it gets the job done. It's great for piping swirls, grass/hair, etc but it looked just ok on the practice roses. Maybe others can have better luck making really good roses with this but we didn't. Thankfully, we didn't need roses. We used this to pipe a swirly cone on the cupcakes and then topped the cupcakes with a fondant flower. We also used this recipe as a crumb icing for the fondant covered belly cake my sister made. The difference was, for the crumb icing, the recipe was made exactly as called for. For piping, I made 2 batches of this recipe w/o any milk at all. For one, I left white. For the other, I added 1/4 packet of Duncan Hines Frosting Creations Strawberry Shortcake flavor and a little red coloring to make it a little more pink. I then put pink on one side of the piping bag and white on the other and swirled the two-tones icing onto the cupcakes. It would have been a lot easier had I used two separate bags & stuck them inside one bag than trying to get the 2 colors to go down one bag evenly. I had icing all over me but it got the job done. The two tone color was very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by elisa
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
First time making frosting and it was all a success! I am not a big fan of buttercream, and neither is my husband, but this one we all loved. My child cannot have enough. And my husband and I are for the first time interested in the frosting! (I don't know if this is good or not for us, but definitely says a lot about the frosting.) My tweaks: I made this with MARGARINE (salted, in sticks), and I cannot imagine the result getting better. I halfed the milk (1Tsp). This recipe frosts 12 cupcakes (without piping).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Excellent with no modification, and really easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Buttercream Icing

See how to make a creamy, egg-free frosting for cookies and cupcakes.

Sturdy Whipped Cream Frosting

This frosting tastes delicate but holds up well at room temperature.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States